MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
P O BOX 55689
JACKSON, MS 39296-5689
MAIN: (601) 359-1820 FAX: (601) 987-6840

APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION WHERE TRAINING WAS
RECEIVED OUT OF STATE;

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY

SUMMARY
1. Fill out Application of Intent (Green Form) and return to the office of the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology. DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY.
2. Contact the state board office in which your training was acquired, and request that a certification of

your training (affidavit) be mailed directly to the office of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.
Certification must provide the name of school attended, city and state in which school is located, and number
of hours earned.

@ If you hold a current license in a state other than the state in which your training was required,
then you must request a certification of your licensure record from that state board.

(b) If you are applying from a state with which we have provisional reciprocity, the certification
must state that the training was not acquired by apprenticeship.

3. When items #1 and #2 are received in the Board’s office, you will be scheduled for an
interview. Failure to Appear on the date and at the time scheduled, will result in undetermined delay
of interview. Read all instructions, enclosed, for additional steps/requirements for the interview and
application process.

4. If approved, you will be requested to complete an application for licensure, and pay the
appropriate fee, as indicated below:

Application for Reciprocity and License Fee $105.00

Fees may be paid by cash, personal check , cashier’s check or money order.

ANY INDIVIDUAL WORKING WITHOUT A MISSISSIPPI LICENSE IS IN VIOLATION
OF THE COSMETOLOGY LAW, AND SUBJECTS THEMSELVES TO THE PROBABILITY
OF LEGAL ACTION BEING TAKEN BY THE BOARD.




MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
P.O. BOX 55689 JACKSON, MS 39296-5689
MAIN: (601) 359-1820 FAX: (601) 354-6639

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION WHERE
TRAINING WAS RECEIVED OUT OF STATE

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY

A) General Requirements:
1) The general requirements for licensure by examination are as follows:

a) Applicant must be at least 17 years of age

b) Applicant must be able to read, write and speak English

c) Applicant must have a high school education or its equivalent

d) Applicant must have completed the required number of hours as prescribed by law in this state,

in a licensed school of cosmetology, over a period of time not less than that prescribed by law. To
be licensed in this State in one of the occupations listed below, the hours of training must be:

Cosmetologist 1500 hours
Manicurist 350 hours
Esthetician 600 hours

e) Applicant will be required to personally present specified credentials during an interview
conducted at the office of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology located at the above address.
Unless it is a legal Holiday, interviews are conducted every Wednesday between the hours of 9:00
A.M. and 4:00 P.M. The interview process will take approximately 20 to 30 minutes to conduct.

2) The general requirements for licensure by reciprocity are as follows:

a)

Applicant must be at least 17 years of age
b) Applicant must be able to read, write and speak English

¢) Applicant must be licensed, in good standing, with a state which offers reciprocity licensure to
applicants from the state of Mississippi. Refer to approved list, attached.

d) Applicant will be required to personally present specified credentials during an interview
conducted at the office of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology located at the above address.
Unless it is a legal Holiday, interviews are conducted every Wednesday between the hours of 9:00
A.M. and 4:00 P.M. The interview process will take approximately 20 to 30 minutes to conduct.



B) Credentialing Requirements: The following documents must be submitted in accordance
with the prescribed procedures. Only original documents will be accepted.

1) Certification of Training (and current licensure, if applicable). Affidavits attesting to applicant’s
training and licensure, where applicable, must be completed and sent directly to the Mississippi State
Board of Cosmetology by the appropriate licensing authority. Affidavits submitted by the applicant will
not be accepted.

A) Applicant must request from the appropriate licensing authority, a certification of his/her
occupational training, and (if applicable) current licensure. The affidavit must be prepared and
signed by an authorized designee and bear the impress of the licensing authority’s state seal. The
licensing authority must then send the affidavit directly to the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology. The affidavit must contain the following information:

I) Training Record: Name and address of Applicant; Social Security Number; school
attended; total hours completed; date of completion. If the Applicant did not complete the
course, then the date of last attendance must be provided. In the event the information
cannot be provided by the licensing authority, it may be obtained from the attendant school,
however, it must be submitted to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology directly from
the school or in a sealed envelope bearing the school “letterhead”, bear the seal-impress of
the school, and be certified by an agent of the school.

I1) If Applicant is licensed out of state, the affidavit must contain: an original date of
issuance; date of expiration; registration number, license number, or file number, etc. used
by the state for identification of each license; examination record.

I11) The Applicant cannot proceed with the Credentialing process until such time as the
certification record from the appropriate licensing authority has been received by the office
of the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

2) Application of Intent: (Document to be mailed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology by
the Applicant)

A) At the time the applicant requests the certification record(s) from the appropriate licensing
authority, as prescribed in Section B (1) she or he must submit to the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology an Application of intent to apply for examination, or licensure by reciprocity.
Applicant must provide a mailing address, home telephone number and a message number where
she or he may be contacted. This information will be used to notify the applicant of receipt of
his/her certification records from the out-of-state licensing authority. The information contained
on this application form must be current and accurate since the Applicant cannot proceed with the
Credentialing process until such time notice has been given of receipt of his/her certification
records.



3) Interview: Applicant must appear in person, and may not have any other individual present
during the interview process. Documents to be presented by the Applicant at the time of the interview

are:

A) Applicants intending to acquire licensure by examination must provide proof of completion of
high school education, or its equivalent. The documentation must be an original high school
diploma, high school transcript, or GED certificate. If the education was obtained outside the
continental United States, Applicant must submit an original translation, completed by a Board
approved translation service. The graduation document will be returned to the applicant; however,
the original of the translation will be retained as a part of the Applicant’s file.

B) Applicants intending to acquire licensure by examination must present an original, out of state
license which is current, and which matches all other information on the certification record which
has been previously provided by the appropriate licensing authority.

C) Photographic identification:

1) Applicant must present two (2) current passport photographs to be attached to his/her
application for examination. Full-face photo required; profile shot unacceptable.
Photograph must be recognizable as the person who is making application for examination.

I1) Applicant must present a government issued photographic identification card which
contains the Applicant’s signature and date of birth. Such forms of photographic
identification are: a photographic Driver’s License (any state) or a Mississippi Photographic
I.D. card available from the Department of Motor Vehicles. All photographs must be
recognizable as the person to whom the identification card was issued. The name on the
application must match the name on the photographic I.D. card. In the event of a name
change, legal proof of the change must be presented.

1) Applicant must present two additional forms of identification, such as Passport,
Alien Registration Card, College Identification card, birth certificate, social security card,
etc. The name on the application must match the name on the identification card. In the
event of a name change, legal proof of the change must be presented.

D) Additional requirement for manicuring applicant:

Any individual planning to utilize a power drill or electric file in any manicuring procedure,
must present a certification indicating that they have been properly trained in its usage.

4) Application: If it is determined that the Applicant has met all statutory requirements, he or she will be
required to complete an application form for licensure (i.e. by examination or by reciprocity), and to pay
the required fee for same. If it is determined that Applicant has not met all statutory requirements, he or
she will be advised of same.



MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
P O BOX 55689
JACKSON, MS 39296-5689
MAIN: (601) 359-1820 FAX: (601) 354-6639

APPLICATION OF INTENT
TO APPLY FOR EXAMINATION
or FOR RECIPROCITY LICENSURE

This document is to be mailed by the Applicant to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology at the above address. The
information contained on this application from must be current and accurate since the Applicant cannot proceed with the
credentialing process until notified that his or her certification records have been received by the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology.

Applicant’s Full Name:

First Name Middle Name Maiden Name Last Name
Current Mailing Address:

Street City State Zip
Day Telephone Number: (Include area code)
Alternate Telephone Number: (Include area code)
Date of Birth: Sex:Male __ Female ___
Social Security Number: Height: _  EyeColor
School in Which Training Was Acquired:

School Name City State

State(s) in Which Currently Licensed (if applicable) (List all)
License Type: Cosmetologist  Manicurist__ Esthetician__ Wigologist
Have you ever been convicted of a felony? __ If yes, please explain.

Have you previously filed an application with the MS State Board of Cosmetology?

If yes, then state kind of application: Approx. Date:

Name is which application was filed:

Last First Middle Initial

By signing this application, I certify that the information provided above is true and accurate under penalty of perjury.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE CURRENT DATE

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE --- FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

RECEIVED: NOTIFIED: STAFF:

DATE AND TIME OF INTERVIEW: AM/PM

LICENSURE BY: EXAMINATION RECIPROCITY



Mississippi State Board Of Cosmetology
Approved Translators
August 26, 2014

Catholic Charities
(Various Locations)

Jackson State University
Division of International Studies
JSU Box 17103

Jackson, MS 39217-0103
Contact: Inesissa

Phone: (601) 979-1611

Mississippi Valley State University
Office of International Programs
MVSU 5209

14000 Hwy 82 W.

Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Contact: Christina Radu

Phone: (662-254-3092)

Transperfect Translation

1170 Peachtreet Suite 1725

Atlanta, GA 30309

Phone: 404-525-7788 Fax: 404-525-2808

Tien Phong Translation Services
15 Highland Street

Arlington, VA 22201

Phone: 703-522-7151

Travel and Translation Services

2116 George Drive

Opelousas, LA 70570

Phone: 337-308-9030 Fax: 337-942-5013



NOTE:In order to be considered for reciprocity
licensure, the training must not have been

received by

apprenticeship, and the applicant must
have taken an examination without the use

of language
aids.

MANICURISTS:Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology
(MSBC) does not offer reciprocity licensure

to manicurists.

Applicants for manicuring license must
make application by examination.

STATE RECIPROCITY STATE RECIPROCITY
STATUS STATUS
Alabama| School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No Oklahoma| School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
Alaska NO Unaided, Yes| Language Aids, No|
Arizona YES Oregon YES
Arkansas| NO Pennsylvania NO|
Californial NO Puerto Rico NO
Colorado School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No Rhode Island NO|
Connecticut NO South Carolina YES
District of School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No South Dakota] NO
Columbial] Unaided exam, Yes| Language Aids, No Tennessee Unaided, Yes| Language Aids, No
Delaware School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No Texas YES
Florida NO Utah NO
Georgial School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No Vermont| School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
Language Aids, No Virginial School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
Hawaii NO Washington NO|
Idaho| NO West Virginial YES]
lllinois| NO Wisconsin NO
Indiana NO Wyoming NO|
lowa| NO
Kansas| Cosmetology, Yes Esthetics, No
Kentucky NO
Louisianal Unaided exam, Yes| Language Aids, No
Main School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
Unaided exam, Yes| Language Aids, No
Maryland School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
Unaided exam, Yes| Language Aids, No
Massachusetts NO
Michigan NO
Minnesota| NO
Missourif  Cosmetology, Yes Esthetics, No




Apprenticeship, No

Montana NO
Nebraska NO
Nevada School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
Unaided exam, Yes| Language Aids, No
New Hampshire School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No
New Jersey| YES
New Mexico NO|
New Yorkl Cosmetology, Yes Esthetics, Yes
North Carolina School, Yes| Apprenticeship, No

Unaided exam, Yes|

Language Aids, No

North Dakotal

Unaided exam, Yes|

Language Aids, No

Ohio

YES

C:\myfiles\reciprocity list
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