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INFORMATION TO STUDENTS

1. When you enroll in a school of cosmetology, you are to be given the duplicate copy of the
contract between you and the cosmetology school. The school owner has certain obligations to
you and you have certain obligations to the school owner. Read your contract and the School
Rules carefully, and abide by them diligently.
2. In order to be credited with hours of training foward a cosmetology or any cosmetology
specialty license, you are required to be enrolled in a licensed cosmetology school AND
REGISTERED WITH THE Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology WITHIN 30 DAYS after your
date of enrollment.

(@) You are co-responsible with the cosmetology school to assure that all Board
registration requirements are met.

(b)  Student registration requirements are:

The STUDENT APPLICATION FOR ENROLLMENT must be completed and

submitted to the Board with...

(1) PROOF OF at least a tenth grade EDUCATION (diploma, certificate, or
tenth grade transcript.) The PROOF OF EDUCATION must be submitted to the board within
30 days. After this time, NO CREDIT WILL BE GRANTED until the requirement has been
met.

OR

(2) PROOF OF tenth grade equivalency (GED) must be submitted to the
board within 90 days. After this time NO CREDIT WILL BE GRANTED until the
requirement has been met.

(3)  Any student who enrolls with a tenth grade education must sign a statement
indicating that they understand that they are not eligible to take the State Board examination
until they have completed the 12" grade or its equivalent.

(c) A statement certifying that the student has received the following must be
submitted with the enrollment form:

(1)  Copy of school contract.

(2)  Copy of the school rules and regulations.

(3)  Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Law and the Rules and Regulations of
the board. Available at website www.msbc.state.ms.us

(4)  Approved Textbook.

(5)  Mannequin.

(6)  Student Kit adherent to Board Rules and Regulations.

The certificate must be signed and dated by both the student and the instructor.

(d) If under seventeen years of age, a copy of your BIRTH CERTIFICATE.
3. During your training period a record of all PRACTICAL SKILLS (Daily Report) performed
is to be kept at the student’s work station and initialed by the instructor and student after each
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practice. The Daily Report is to be available to the State Board or any agent thereof at all times
during regular business hours.

4. The School Final Report of total accumulated hours and grades is also to be submitted
to the Board Office upon withdrawal or other termination from the school.

(@) YOU ARE CO-RESPONSIBLE with the school owner/administrator in assuring that
the required Final Report of hours and grades is submitted to the Board when the report is due.

(b)  Should you discontinue your training for any reason it is necessary that you notify
the school owner in order that all necessary records are sent to the Board offices immediately.

5. In order to train as a student, you are required to have a kit completely equipped and an
approved textbook for each course in which enrolled. The Board sets forth minimum kit content
requirements.

(@) Astudent is not required to pay for supplies used by him in assigned practice work
or in clinic floor patron services.

(b) A student who elects to perform or to receive unassigned cosmetology services
from another student may be required by the school to pay for supplies used in the unassigned
services.

(c)  The student contract should specify how and when the student kit is considered
bought and paid for and becomes the property of the student.

6. It is illegal for a student to practice cosmetology outside a beauty school, except the
Board does allow field trips where the students are under the direct supervision of an Instructor
for Cosmetology related matters.

7. You must meet the dress code of your school at all times while in the school.

8. When you apply for the State Board Examination you are eligible to also apply for a
temporary work permit; you are allowed only one. The permit must be posted at all times on or
near your work station. You must work under the supervision of a currently licensed operator in
a currently licensed beauty salon. Your permit becomes void ninety days after issue,

OR:

(@)  Failure to appear for examination on the designated date (except for documented
illness or death in the family) will cause the permit to automatically become void and your
examination fee will be forfeited.

(b) Failure to complete the examination successfully will cause your permit to become
void; both you and your employer will be so notified in writing.
9. You are advised to consult with the State Board Inspector or write the office of the Board
BEFORE you make plans to open a beauty salon. Should you obtain a beauty salon before you
are properly licensed as a operator, you must notify the Board of a licensed operator who will
manage your beauty salon. YOU CANNOT work in your beauty salon until you have applied for
examination, the application has been approved, and your temporary work permit has been
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received at the salon; then you must work under the direct supervision of that licensed operator.

We suggest that you also consult your local Planning Commission if you
contemplate opening a home beauty shop (for zoning information).

10.  In order to comply with the Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board, you must keep

your training station in the school clean and sanitary at all times. Clean and sanitized

implements and tools must be kept in a separate closed container away from used and soiled

items.

11.  Should you violate the State Cosmetology Law or Rules and Regulations, your license

may be subject to possible suspension or revocation, or misdemeanor charges may be filed

against you, or both.

12.  Any complaint made by a student to the Board concerning a school should be made in

writing. Any information must be clearly and concisely written and signed by the student making

the complaint.

13.  Questions or interpretation regarding Cosmetology Rules, Regulations and Law should

first be referred to the administrative personnel of the cosmetology school, and if not thoroughly

understood, direct contact with the State Board of Cosmetology is advised.



Title 73, Chapter 7

Code of Mississippi

1972, Annotated, Amended



CHAPTER 7

Cosmetologists

§ 73-7-1. State Board - how appointed.

There is hereby continued and reconstituted a state board of cosmetology composed of
five (5) members, to be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate,
and whose term of office shall be four (4) years from the date of appointment except as
otherwise provided herein. However, that no more than two (2) members shall be appointed
from each Supreme Court District.

There shall be a president of the board and such other officers as deemed necessary by
the board elected by and from its membership, provided that the member elected as president
shall have at least one (1) year of experience on the board. Any member appointed by the
Governor and confirmed by the Senate for a term to begin on or after July 1, 1997, who was
designated by the Governor to serve as president of the board, shall be fully qualified to serve
on the board for a full term of office, but shall not serve as president of the board unless elected
by the membership of the board as provided under this paragraph.

To be eligible for appointment as a member of the state board of cosmetology, the person
applying shall have been a citizen of this state for five (5) years immediately prior to
appointment. Such person shall be at least thirty (30) years of age, possess a high school
education or its equivalent, and shall have been a licensed cosmetologist with not less than ten
(10) years active practice in cosmetology. No member of the board shall be connected in any
way with any school wherein cosmetology is taught, nor shall any two (2) members of the board
be graduates of the same school of cosmetology.

However, in the event of vacancy by death or resignation of any member of the board, the
Governor shall, within thirty (30) days, appoint a person possessing all qualification required to
serve the remainder of the term. Any member who shall not attend two (2) consecutive
meetings of the board for reasons other than illness of such member shall be subject to removal
by the Governor. The president of the board shall notify the Governor in writing when any such
member has failed to attend two (2) consecutive regular meetings.

The salaries of all paid employees of the board shall be paid out of funds in the board’s
special fund in the State Treasury. Each member of the board, excepting the inspectors
provided for herein, shall receive per diem as authorized by Section 25-3-69, and shall be
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reimbursed for such other expenses at the same rate and under the same conditions as other
state employee as provided for in Section 25-3-41.

The board shall give reasonable public notice of all board meetings not less than ten (10)
days prior to such meetings.

§ 73-7-2. Definitions.
As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed herein
unless the context otherwise requires:
(@) “Board” means the State Board of Cosmetology.
(b)  “Cosmetology” means any one (1) or a combination of the following practices if they are
performed on a person’s head, face, neck, shoulder, arms, hands, legs, or feet for cosmetic
purposes:
(h Cutting, clipping or trimming hair.
(i) Styling, arranging, dressing, curling, waving, permanent waving, straightening,
cleansing, bleaching, tinting, coloring or similarly treating hair.

(iif)  Cleansing, stimulating, manipulating, beautifying or applying oils, antiseptics, clays,
lotions or other preparations, either by hand or mechanical or electrical apparatus.
(iv)  Arching eyebrows or tinting eyebrows and eyelashes.
(V) Removing superfluous hair by the use of depilatories.
(vi)  Manicuring and pedicuring.
(c) “Cosmetologist” means a person who for compensation, whether direct or indirect,
engages in the practice of cosmetology.
(d)  “Esthetics” means any one (1) of a combination of the following practices:
) Massaging the face or neck of a person.
ii) Trimming eyebrows
iii)  Tinting eyelashes or eyebrows.
iv)  Waxing, stimulating, cleaning or beautifying the face, neck, arms or legs of a
person by any method with the aid of the hands or any mechanical or electrical apparatus, or by
the use of a cosmetic preparation.

(
(
(
(

The term “esthetics” shall not include the diagnosis, treatment or therapy of any
dermatological condition.
(e)  “Esthetician” means any person who, for compensation, either direct or indirect, engages
in the practice of esthetics.
() “Instructor” means a person licensed to teach cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring,
or esthetics, or wigology, or all of those, pursuant to this chapter, and shall include those persons
8



engaged in the instruction or student instructors.
(@)  “Manicuring and pedicuring” means any one (1) or a combination of the following
practices:

(N Cutting, trimming, polishing, coloring, tinting, cleansing or otherwise treating a
person’s nails.
(i) Applying artificial nails.
(i)  Massaging or cleaning a person’s hands, arms, legs or feet.
(h) “Manicurist” means a person who for compensation, either direct or indirect, engages in
the practice of manicuring and pedicuring.
() “‘Master cosmetologist” means a person holding a cosmetology license who has
completed the minimum course of continuing education prescribed by Section 73-7-14.

() “Salon” means an establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the practice of
cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or all of those.
(k) “School” means an establishment, public or private, operated for the purpose of teaching
cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or all of those.
(1 “Wigology” means a service to a wig or hairpiece in any one (1) or combination of the
following:

(N Arranging, dressing, waving or curling.

(i) Cleaning.

(i)  Bleaching or coloring.

(iv)  Cutting or shaping.
(m)  “Wig specialist” means a person who, for compensation, either direct or indirect, engages
in the practice of wigology.

§ 73-7-3. Officers - Employees - Compensation.

The board shall be authorized to employ such clerical and stenographic assistance,
bookkeepers, investigators and other agents as they may deem necessary to carry out the
provisions of this chapter, and to fix their tenure of employment and compensation therefor. The
members of the board shall file a bond with the Secretary of State in the sum or not less than
five thousand dollars ($5,000) payable to the State of Mississippi for the faithful performance of
their duties. The bond shall be made by a surety company authorized to do business in this
state, the premium of the bond to be paid out of any money in the board’s special fund in the
State Treasury.

The office of the board shall be located in the greater metropolitan area of the City of
Jackson, Mississippi, and in the event office space cannot be obtained in any state-owned
building, the board is authorized to rent suitable office space and to pay therefor out of funds in
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the board’s special fund. The board shall employ inspector’s as needed, not to exceed
seven (7), who shall be full-time employees and whose salaries and duties shall be fixed by the
board.

The salaries of all paid employees of the board shall be paid out of the funds in the
board’s special fund, The inspectors shall, in addition to their salaries, be reimbursed for such
expenses as are allowed other sate employees under the provisions of section 25-3-41,
Mississippi Code of 1972. In addition to the paying of office rent, the board is authorized to
purchase necessary office furniture and equipment, stationery, books, certificates, and any other
equipment necessary for the proper administration of this chapter.

§ 73-7-5. Depository; reports; audit; suspension of defaulting member.

All fees and any other monies received by the board shall be deposited in a special fund
that is created in the State Treasury and shall be used for the implementation and administration
of this chapter when appropriated by the Legislature for such purpose. The monies in the
special fund shall be subject to all provisions of the state budget laws that are applicable to
special fund agencies, and shall be disbursed by the State Treasurer only upon warrants issued
by the State Fiscal Officer upon requisitions signed by the president of the board or another
board member designated by the president, and countersigned by the secretary of the board.
Any interest earned on this special fund shall be credited by the State Treasurer to the fund and
shall not be paid into the State General Fund. Any unexpended monies remaining in the special
fund at the end of a fiscal year shall not lapse into the General Fund.

The State Auditor shall audit the financial affairs of the board and the transactions
involving the special fund at least once a year in the same manner as for other special fund
agencies. In addition, the Governor, in his discretion, shall have the power from time to time to
require an audit of the financial affairs of the board, the same to be made by the State Auditor
upon request of the Governor. The Governor shall have the power to suspend any member of
the board who shall be found in default in any account until such time as it shall be determined
whether such default was a result of an act of dishonesty on the part of the member, and in the
event it is found that such default is an act of dishonesty, misfeasance or nonfeasance on the
part of the member, such member shall be immediately removed by the Governor from office.

§ 73-7-7. Powers of the board.

The board shall have authority to make reasonable rules and regulations for the
administration of the provisions of this chapter. The board shall set up a curriculum for operation
of schools of cosmetology and the other professions it is charged to regulate in this state. The
board shall receive and consider for adoption recommendations for rules and regulations, school
curriculum, and related matters from the Mississippi Cosmetology Council, whose membership
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shall consist of, in addition to the board members, five (5) elected delegates from the
Mississippi Hairdressers and Cosmetologists Association, five (5) elected delegates from the
Mississippi Cosmetology School Association, and five (5) elected delegates from the Mississippi
Independent Beauticians Association, and five (5) elected delegates from the School Owners
and Teachers Association. The board may revoke the license of any cosmetologist, esthetician,
manicurist, wig specialist, instructor, school of cosmetology, or salon, or may refuse to issue a
license to any cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, wig specialist, instructor, school of
cosmetology or salon that fails or refuses to comply with the provision of this chapter and the
rules and regulations of the board in carrying out the provision of this chapter.

The board shall have authority to prescribed reasonable rules and regulations governing
sanitation of schools of cosmetology and beauty salons for the guidance of persons licensed
under this chapter in the operation of schools of cosmetology, or a beauty salon, and in the
practice of cosmetology, esthetics, manicuring and pedicuring, and wigology. However, any
rules and regulations relating to sanitation shall, before adoption by the board, have the written
approval of the State Board of Health. When the board has reasons to believe that any of the
provisions of this chapter or of the rules and regulations of the board have been violated, either
upon receipt of a written complaint alleging such violations or upon the board’s own initiative, the
board or any or its authorized agents, shall investigate same and shall have authority to enter
upon the premises of a school of cosmetology or salon at any time during regular business
hours of that school or salon to conduct the investigation. Such investigation may include, but
not be limited to, conducting oral interviews with the complaining party, school or salon owner(s)
and/or students of the school, and reviewing records of the school or salon pertinent to the
complaint and related to an area subject to the authority of the board. Such investigation shall
not include written interviews or surveys of school employees or students, and the privacy of
patron shall be respected by any person making such investigation.

On or before July 1, 2001, the board shall adopt regulations to ensure that all fingernail
service products used by licensed cosmetologists, manicurists and other licensees do not
contain methyl methacrylate (MMA) as a monomer agent for cosmetic nail applications.

If the board finds that a violation of the provisions of this chapter or the rules and
regulations of the board has occurred, it may cause a hearing to be held as set forth in Section
73-7-27.

§ 73-7-9. Certificate of registration required (license).

No person required by this chapter to have a license shall conduct a beauty salon or
school of cosmetology, or practice cosmetology, esthetics, manicuring and pedicuring, or
wigology, or practice as an instructor, unless such person has received a license or temporary
permit therefor from the board. Students determined to have violated any of these rules or

11



regulations prior to being licensed by the board shall be subject to the same discipline by the
board as licensees. They may be disciplined and fined accordingly.

§ 73-7-11.  Display of Certificate of registration.

Each owner of a certificate of registration issued by the state board, pursuant to the
provisions of this chapter, shall display said certificate of registration in a conspicuous place in
his or her principal office, place of business or employment, at all times.

§ 73-7-12. Examinations to be held.

The State Board of Cosmetology shall contract with a recognized testing service to
conduct examinations for cosmetologist, estheticians, manicurists, wig specialist and instructors
at such times and locations as determined by the contracted testing service. No member of the
board shall be authorized to personally administer the examination.

§ 73-7-13. Cosmetologist - requirements for examination; eligibility of licensed barber
to take examination; inactive license.

(1) The board shall admit to examination for a cosmetology license any person who
has made application to the board in proper form, has paid the required fee, and who (a) is at
least seventeen (17) years of age, (b) can read, write and speak English, (c) has
successfully completed no less than fifteen hundred (1500) hours over a period of no less than
nine (9) months in an accredited school of cosmetology, and (d) has a high school education
or its equivalent.

The board may, in its discretion, issue to any student who has completed the prescribed

hours in an accredited school in Mississippi a temporary permit until such time as the next
examination may be held, but such student shall be issued only one (1) temporary permit.
Application for an examination and license shall be accompanied by two (2) recent head
photographs of the applicant. No temporary permit will be issued an applicant from any other
state to operate a beauty salon or school of cosmetology in this state unless in case of
emergency.
Applicants for the cosmetologist examination, after having satisfactorily passed the prescribed
examination, shall be issued a cosmetology license which until June 30, 2001, shall be valid for
one (1) year, and after July 1, 2001, shall be valid for two (2) years, and all those licenses shall
be subject to renewal.

Any barber who can read, write and speak English and has successfully completed no
less than fifteen hundred (1500) hours in an accredited barber school, and who hold a current
valid certificate of registration to practice barbering and who holds a current valid license, is
eligible to take the cosmetology examination to secure a cosmetology license upon successfully
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completing five hundred (500) hours in an accredited school of cosmetology. All fees for
application, examination, registration and renewal thereof shall be the same as provided for
cosmetologists.

(2) Each application or filing made under this section shall include the social security
number(s) of the applicant in accordance with Section 93-11-64.

(3) Any licensed cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist or wigologist who is registered
but not actively practicing in the State of Mississippi at the time of making application for
renewal, may apply for registration on the “inactive” list. Such “inactive” list shall be maintained
by the board and shall set out the names and post office addresses of all persons registered but
not actively practicing in this state, arranged alphabetically by name and also by the
municipalities and states of their last known professional or residential address. Only the
cosmetologists, estheticians, manicurists and wigologists registered on the appropriate list as
actively practicing in the State of Mississippi shall be authorized to practice those professions.
For the purpose of this section, any licensed cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist or wigologist
who has actively practiced his or her profession for at least three (3) months of the immediately
preceding license renewal period shall be considered in active practice. No cosmetologist,
esthetician, manicurist or wigologist shall be registered on the “inactive” list until the person has
furnished a statement of intent to take such action to the board. Any licensed cosmetologist,
esthetician, manicurist or wigologist registered on the “inactive” list shall not be eligible for
registration on the active list until either of the following conditions have been satisfied:

(@) Written application shall be submitted to the State Board of Cosmetology stating the
reasons for such inactivity and setting forth such other information as the board may require on
an individual basis and completion of the number of clock hours of continuing education as
approved by the board; or

(b)  Evidence to the satisfaction of the board shall be submitted that they have actively
practiced their profession in good standing in another state and have not been guilty of conduct
that would warrant suspension or revocation as provided by applicable law; and

(c) Payment of the fee for processing such inactive license.

§ 73-7-14. Master cosmetologist - requirements.

Any person who holds a current, valid cosmetology license may be licensed as a master
cosmetologist if he or she has been a licensed cosmetologist in this state for a period of not less
than twelve (12) months, and has completed a minimum course of sixteen (16) hours’ study in
continuing education approved by the board within the licensing period preceding initial
application for the license, and has paid the original license fee. Master cosmetologist licenses
shall be renewable upon completion of a minimum course of eight (8) hours’ study in continuing
education approved by the board within a licensing period and payment of the required renewal
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fee. This is an optional license and persons who do not wish to complete the continuing
education requirement may obtain a cosmetology license when renewing their license.

§ 73-7-15. Instructors - requirements for examination; continuing education.

(1) The board shall admit to examination for a cosmetology instructor’s license any
person who has made application to the board in proper form, has paid the required fee, and
who
(@) Is not less than twenty-one (21) years of age;

(b)  Can read, write and speak English;
(c) Is a graduate of an accredited cosmetology school;
(d)  Has a high school education or its equivalent;

(e) Has Successfully completed seven hundred fifty (750) hours of instructor
training an accredited school of cosmetology;

() Has successfully completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the board

(9) Holds a current, valid Mississippi cosmetology license; and

(h) Has at least two (2) years’ active practical experience as a licensed
cosmetologist, or an alternative to such experience, has successfully complete two thousand
(2,000) hours of instructor training in an accredited school of cosmetology.

(2)  The board shall admit to examination for an esthetics instructor’s license any
person who has made application to the board in proper form, has paid the required fee, and
who:

(@) Is notless than twenty-one (21) years of age;

(b)  Can read, write and speak English;

(c) Has a high school education or its equivalent;

(d) Has Successfully completed six hundred (600) hours of instructor training

in an accredited school in which the practice of esthetics is taught.

(e) Has successfully completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the board

(f) Holds a current, valid Mississippi esthetician’s license; and

(9) Has at least two (2) years’ active practical experience as a licensed
esthetician, or as an alternative to such experience, has successfully complete one thousand
(1,000) hours of instructor training in an accredited school in which the practice of esthetics is
taught.

(3) The board shall admit to examination for a manicurist instructor’s license any
person who has made application to the board in proper form, has paid the required fee, and
who:
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(a) Is not less than twenty-one (21) years of age;

(b)  Can read, write and speak English;

(c) Has a high school education or its equivalent;

(d) Has Successfully completed six hundred (600) hours of instructor training

in an accredited school in which the practice of manicuring is taught.

(e) Has successfully completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the board

(f) Holds a current, valid Mississippi manicurist’s license; and

(9) Has at least two (2) years’ active practical experience as a licensed
manicurist, or as an alternative to such experience, has successfully complete one thousand
(1,000) hours of instructor training in an accredited school in which the practice of manicuring is
taught.

(4) Applicants shall satisfactorily pass the examination prescribed by the board for
licensing instructors prior to the issuance of the licenses provided for in this section. However,
the board may, in its discretion, issue a temporary instructor’s permit until such time as the next
examination may be held, but such applicant shall be issued only one (1) temporary permit. All
applications for an instructor’s examination shall be accompanied by two (2) recent head
photographs of the applicant.

(5) All instructors licensed pursuant to this section shall biennially obtain twenty-four
(24) clock hours of continuing education in teacher training instruction in cosmetology or
esthetics or manicuring, as the case may be, as approved by the board. Any instructor who fails
to obtain the continuing education required by this subsection shall not be allowed to instruct nor
enroll students under his or her license until such education requirement has been met. The
board may issue an inactive instructor’s license to such instructors, and an inactive license may
be converted into an active license after proof satisfactory to the board of completion of at least
twenty-four (24) clock hours of approved continuing education required for teacher training
instruction.

(6) Each application or filing made under this section shall include the social security
numbers(s) of the applicant in accordance with Section 93-11-64.

§ 73-7-16.  School license required.

All schools of cosmetology or school owners shall have a school license and shall pay to
the board the required license fee annually therefor. A grace period of sixty (60) days will be
given in which to renew the license, and upon the expiration of the grace period of sixty (60)
days, any applicant for the renewal of a school license will be required to pay a delinquent fee in
addition to the renewal fee. The board is hereby authorized and empowered to promulgate
necessary and reasonable rules and regulations for the issuance and renewal of school
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licenses. However, the board shall not refuse to issue or renew a school’s license because of
the number of schools already in that area of the state, and any rule promulgated by the board
for that purpose shall be null and void.

Each application or filing made under this section shall include the social security number(s) of
the applicant in accordance with section 93-11-64, Mississippi Code 1972.

Nationally accredited schools shall follow accreditation standards for hiring and training
faculty and any state statute that contradicts those federal standards is not applicable to
nationally accredited schools. All other schools must comply fully with the applicable state
statutes.

The board shall require all schools of cosmetology to only admit students who have
successfully passed the General Aptitude Test Battery (GATB) or the Test of Adult Basic
Education (TABE) .

Private business and vocational schools that have obtained national accreditation from an
accrediting agency designated by the United States Department of Education may submit
evidence of current accreditation in lieu of other application request.

Applications submitted on evidence of national accreditation must be approved or denied within
thirty (30) days after the receipt. If no action within thirty (30) days, the application shall be
deemed approved and a school license must be issued.

§ 73-7-17. Salon license required.

All salon owners shall have a salon license and shall pay to the board the required
license fee therefor and pay the required renewal fee for the renewal thereof. A grace period of
sixty (60) days will be given in which to renew the license, and upon the expiration of the grace
period of sixty (60) days any applicant for the renewal of a salon license will be required to pay a
delinquent fee in addition to the renewal fee. Prior to the initial issuance of such license, the
board shall inspect the premises to determine if same qualifies with the law, upon payment by
the applicant of the required inspection fee.

§ 73-7-18.  Esthetician - requirement for examination.
(1)  The board shall admit to examination for an esthetician’s license any person who
has made application to the board in proper form, has paid the required fee, and who:
) Is not less than seventeen (17) years of age;

) Has a high school education or its equivalent; and
d) Has successfully completed a course of training in esthetics of not less than
six hundred (600) hours in an accredited school in which the practice of esthetics is
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taught, including not less than one hundred (100) hours of theory and five hundred (500) hours
of skill practice.
Any licensed esthetician wishing to acquire a cosmetology licensed may apply the
six hundred (600) hours of esthetics training toward the requirements for a
cosmetology license.
(2) Every person who has completed not less than three hundred fifty (350) hours of
training in esthetics approved by the board in this or any other state prior to July 1, 1987,
shall be registered with the board within a period not exceeding six (6) months after July
1, 1987, and shall be granted an esthetician’s license by the board if such person
presents satisfactory evidence to the board that he or she has fulfiled all the
requirements to be admitted to examination except the training hours requirement.

§ 73-7-19. Renewal of license.

Until June 30, 2001, all licenses issued under the provisions of this chapter shall expire
one (1) year from date of issue; however, the board may authorize any licensee to renew his or
her license for a two-year period until June 30, 2001, after which all licenses shall be renewed
biennially under the fee schedule in Section 73-7-29. Applications for renewal of licenses for
cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurists, wig specialists and instructors must be accompanied by
the required renewal fee. A grace period of sixty (60) days will be given in which to renew the
license; and upon the expiration of the grace period of sixty (60) days, any applicant for the
renewal of a license will be required to pay the required renewal fee and a delinquent fee in
addition to the renewal fee. The fees may be paid by either personal or certified check, cash or
money order, under such safeguards, rules and regulations as the board may prescribe. Checks
returned to the board because of insufficient funds shall result in nonrenewable of the license,
which will require the penalty fee for insufficient fund checks plus all other amounts due for
renewal of the license before the license may be renewed. After one (1) year has passed from
the expiration date of the license, a delinquent fee must be paid for each year up to three (3)
years, after which the required examination must be taken. All applications for examination
required by this chapter shall expire ninety (90) days from the date thereof.

Each application or filing made under this section shall include the social security
number(s) of the applicant in accordance with Section 93-11-64.

§ 73-7-21. Manicurists - requirements for examination.
The board shall admit to examination for a manicurist’s license any person who has made
application to the board in proper form, has paid the required fee, and who:
(a) Is at least seventeen (17) years for age;
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(b)  Can read, write and speak English;

(c) Has successfully completed no less than three hundred fifty (350) hours of practice
and related theory in manicuring and pedicuring over a period of no less than nine (9) weeks in
an accredited school of cosmetology in this or any other state; and

(d) Has a high school education or its equivalent. Licensed manicurists desiring to
pursue additional hours to be eligible for a license as a cosmetologist may be credited with the
three hundred fifty (350) hours acquired in studying and training to be a manicurist which may be
applied to the number of hours required for a cosmetology license examination.

The board shall adopt regulations governing the use of power drills for the purpose of
filing false or natural fingernails.

Each application or filing made under this section shall include the social security
number(s) of the applicant in accordance with Section 93-11-64.

§ 73-7-23. Reciprocity provisions.

The board may, upon application, issue a license by reciprocity to any cosmetologist,
esthetician, manicurist, or wig specialist over the age of seventeen (17) years from any other
state who has satisfactorily completed the required number of accredited hours in that state,
provided the state board from which the applicant comes issues to cosmetologist, estheticians,
manicurists, or wig specialists, as the case may be, from the State of Mississippi a license under
the same conditions. Applications must be accompanied by (a) proof satisfactory to the board
that the required hours have been completed, and (b) the required reciprocity fee, which shall be
paid to the board.

An instructor from any other state may be qualified for instructor’'s examination upon
presenting a valid instructor’s license and proof of a high school education or its equivalent,
provided that said instructor (a) has had three (3) years or more of experience as a licensed
instructor prior to application, (b) can read, write and speak English and (c) has completed
twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the board. Such applications the
accompanied by two (2) recent head photographs of the applicant. Applicants shall pay the
required examination fee and license fee.

§ 73-7-25. Demonstrator’s permit.

Every demonstrator in the field of cosmetology shall, before making demonstrations in a
salon or school, apply for and obtain a permit from the board. For such permit, which shall be
for one (1) year, the required fee shall be paid to the board. This section shall be construed to
apply to demonstrators in salons and schools.

§ 73-7-27. Complaints - Disciplinary Action - notice and hearings - the time for rendition
of decision - appeal from decision of board.
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(1)  Any complaint may be filed with the board by a member or agent of the board or by any
person charging any licensee of the board with the commission of any of the offenses
enumerated in subsection (2) of this section. Such complaint shall be in writing, signed by the
accuser or accusers, and verified under oath, and such complaints shall be investigated as set
forth in section 73-7-7. If, after the investigation, the board through its administrative review
agents determines that there is not substantial justification to believe that the accused licensee
has committed any of the offenses enumerated, it may dismiss the complaint or may prepare a
formal complaint proceeding against the licensee as hereinafter provided. When used with
reference to any complaint filed against a licensee herein the term “not substantial justification”
means a complaint that is frivolous, groundless in fact or law, or vexatious, as determined by
unanimous vote of the board. In the event of a dismissal, the person filing the accusation and
the accused licensee shall be given written notice of the board’s determination. If the board
determines there is reasonable cause to believe the accused has committed any of those
offenses the secretary of the board shall give written notice of such determination to the accused
licensee and set a day for a hearing as provided in subsection (3) of this section.
(2) The board shall have the power to revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any
license or certificate provided for in this chapter and to fine, place on probation and/or otherwise
discipline a student or licensee or holder of a certificate, upon proof that such person: (a)has not
complied with or has violated any of the rules and regulations promulgated by said board; (b)
has not complied with or has violated any of the sections of this chapter; (c) has committed fraud
or dishonest conduct in the taking the examination herein provided for (d) has been convicted of
a felony; (e) has committed grossly unprofessional or dishonest conduct; (f) is addicted to the
excessive use of intoxicating liquors or to the use of drugs to such an extent as to render him or
her unfit to practice in any of the practices or occupations set forth in this chapter; (g) has
advertised by means of knowingly false or deceptive statements; or (h) has failed to display the
license or certificate issued to him or her as provided for in this chapter; or (I) has been
convicted of violating any of the provisions of this chapter. A conviction of violating any of the
provisions of this chapter shall be ground for automatic suspension of the license or certificate of
such person.
(3)  The board shall not revoke, suspend or refuse to issue or renew any license or certificate
or fine, place on probation or otherwise discipline any person in a disciplinary matter except after
a hearing of which the applicant or licensee or holder of the certificate affected shall be given at
least twenty (20) days’ notice in writing, specifying the reason or reasons for denying the
applicant a license or certificate of registration, or in the case of any other disciplinary action, the
offense or offenses of which the licensee or holder of a certificate of registration is charged.
Such notice may by served by mailing a copy thereof by United States first class certified mail,
postage prepaid, to the last known residence or business address of such applicant, license or
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(4)  holder of a certificate. The hearing on such charges shall be at such time and place as
the board may prescribe.
(4) At such hearings, all withesses shall be sworn by a member of the board, and
stenographic notes of the proceedings shall be taken. Any party to the proceedings desiring it
shall be furnished with a copy of such stenographic notes upon payment to the board of such
fees as it shall prescribe, not exceeding however, the actual costs of transcription.
(5)  The board is hereby authorized and empowered to issue subpoenas for the attendance of
witnesses and the production of books and papers. The process issued by the board shall
extend to all parts of the state and such process shall be served by any person designated by
the board for such service. The person serving such process shall receive such compensation
as may be allowed by the board, not to exceed the fee prescribed by law for similar services. All
witnesses who shall be subpoenaed, and who shall appear in any proceedings before the board,
shall receive the same fees and mileage as allowed by law.
(6)  Where in any proceeding before the board, any witness shall fail or refuse to attend upon
subpoena issued by the board, shall refuse to testify, or shall refuse to produce any books and
papers the production of which is called for by the subpoena, the attendance of such witness
and the giving of his testimony and the production of the books and papers shall be enforced by
any court of competent jurisdiction of this state, in the same manner as are enforced for the
attendance and testimony of witnesses in civil case in the courts of this state.
(7)  The board shall conduct the hearing in an orderly and continuous manner, granting
continuances only when the ends of justice may be served. The board shall, within sixty (60)
days after the conclusion of the hearing, reduce its decision to writing and forward an attested
true copy thereof to the last known residence or business address of such applicant, licensee, or
holder of a certificate, by way of United State first class, certified mail, postage prepaid. Such
applicant, licensee, holder of a certificate, or person aggrieved shall have the right of appeal
from an adverse ruling, or order, or decision of the board to the chancery court upon forwarding
notice of appeal to the board within thirty (30) days after the decision of the board is mailed in
the manner here contemplated. An appeal will not be allowed in the event notice of appeal
together with the appeal bond hereinafter required shall not have been forwarded to the board
within the thirty-day period. Appeal shall be to the chancery court of the county and judicial
district of the residence of the appellant, or to the Chancery Court of the First Judicial District of
Hinds County, Mississippi, at the election of the appellant. The notice of appeal shall elect
venue, unless the appellant be a nonresident of the State of Mississippi, in which event the
board shall certify all documents and evidence directly to the Chancery Court of the First Judicial
District of Hinds County for further proceedings. The appeal shall thereupon be heard in due
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course by the court which shall review the record and make its determination thereon.
(8)  The appellant shall, together with the notice of appeal, forward to and post with the board

a satisfactory bond in the amount of five hundred dollars ($500.00) for the payment of any costs
which may be adjudged against him.

(9) In the event of an appeal, the court shall dispose of said appeal and enter its decision
promptly. The hearing on the appeal may, in the discretion of the chancellor, be tried in vacation.
If there is an appeal, such appeal may, in the discretion of an on motion to the chancery court,
act as a supersedeas. However, any fine imposed by the board under the provisions of this
chapter shall not take effect until after the time for appeal has expired, and an appeal of the
imposition of such a fine shall act as a supersedeas.

(10) Any fine imposed by the board upon a licensee or holder of a certificate shall be in
accordance with the following schedule: (a) for the first violation, a fine of not less than Fifty
($50.00) dollars nor more than One Hundred dollars ($100.00) for each violation, (b) for the
second and each subsequent violation, a fine or not less than One Hundred dollars ($100.00)
nor more than Four Hundred dollars ($400.00) for each violation.

The power and authority of the board to impose such fines under this section shall
not be affected or diminished by any other proceedings, civil or criminal, concerning the
same violation or violations.

(11) In addition to the reason specified in subsection (2) of this section, the board shall be
authorized to suspend the license of any licensee for being out of compliance with an order for
support, as defined in Section 93-11-153 of the MS. Code. The procedure for suspension of a
license for being out of compliance with an order for support, and the procedure for the
reissuance or reinstatement of a license suspended for that purpose, and the payment of any
fees for the reissuance or reinstatement of a license suspended for the purpose, shall be
governed by Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163 of the MS code, as the case may be. Actions
taken by the board in suspending a license when required by Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163
are not actions from which an appeal may be taken under this section. Any appeal of a license
suspension that is required by Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163 shall be taken in accordance with
the appeal procedures specified in Section 93-11-157 ir 93-11-163, as the case may be, rather
than the procedure specified in this section. If there is any conflict between any provision of
Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163 and any provision of this chapter, the provisions of 93-11-157 or
93-11-163, as the case may be, shall control.
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§ 73-7-29. Fees.
The State Board of Cosmetology shall assess fees in the following amounts and for the
following purposes: .

(a) Initial license/renewal for - cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, or wig

SPECIAliST.....oeeii s 50.00
(b) Instructor initial license/renewal...............cccuiiiiiiiiii 80.00
(c) Master Cosmetologists
[ToT=T RS =T 0 1= = | PP PSORRRR 70.00
(d) Delinquent renewal penalty - cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, wig
specialist and INSIrUCION:..........coiiii e 50.00

There shall be no renewal fee for any licensee seventy (70) years of age or older.

(e)  Salon application and initial INSPECHION...........cciiiiiiiiiiiin 85.00
(f) ST o] oI =TT 0 E] o= Tex (o] o PP 35.00
(g)  Salon change of ownership or location, or both ... 85.00
(N)  SAlON FENEWAN ..o e e e e e e e e e e 60.00
(i) Salon delinquent renewal penalty............cccccooiriiiiiiiiiii e 50.00
() Application and initial inspection for a new school..............ccccceeeeeiiiin 300.00
(k) New SChOOI reiNSPECHION ........ooiiiiiiiiiii e 100.00
(1 School change of OWNErship .........cooiiiiiiiiiii e 300.00
(M) SChOoOI reloCatioN .........oooiiiieeee e e e e e 150.00
(N)  SCOOI FENEWAN ...t 75.00
(0)  School delinquent renewal penalty .........cccccooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii 100.00
(P)  DUPIICALE lICENSE.....ueeeieiiieie e 10.00
(q)  Penalty for insufficient fund checks ..............ooovimiiiiiiiiiiii 20.00
(r ATfIdAVit PrOCESSING ...t 15.00

The State Board of Cosmetology may charge additional fees for services which the board
deems appropriate to carry out its intent and purpose. These additional fees shall not exceed
the cost of rendering the service.

The board is fully authorized to make refunds of any deposits received by the board for
services which are not rendered. Refunds will automatically be made on overpayment of fees.
Refunds will be made on under payments by written requests from applicants. If no request for
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refund is made within sixty (60) days, the fees will be forfeited.

§ 73-7-31. Proviso

Nothing in this chapter shall apply to:

(a) Hairdressing, manicuring or facial treatments given in the home to members of
family or friends for which no charge is made.

(b) Persons whose practice is limited to the application of cosmetic products to
another person in connection with the sale, or attempted sale, of such products at retail, without
compensation from such other person other than the regular retail price of such merchandise.

(c) Barbers, and nothing in the chapter shall affect the jurisdiction of the State Board
of Barber Examiners.

(d)  Persons engaged in the practice of hair braiding as defined in Section 32 of this act
who have completed the self-test part of the brochure on infection control
techniques prepared by the State Department of Health and who keep the
brochure and completed self-test available at the location at which the person is
engaged in hair braiding.. This paragraph (d) shall stand repealed on July 1, 2008.

§ 73-7-33.  Sanitation rules and regulations.
In addition to the rules and regulations that may be prescribed and promulgated by the
board under authority of this chapter, the following rules and regulations shall be observed:

Every establishment must be kept sanitary, including all utensils and equipment; must be
well ventilated and properly lighted. Each salon must be provided with hot and cold running
water. Electrical appliance must be properly installed and grounded.

Cosmetologists shall be allowed to wear any type of clothing or apparel while at work as
long as such clothing or apparel is sanitary.

Cosmetologists shall be allowed to use any type of hair roller as long as they do so in a
sanitary manner.

Anyone having an infectious or contagious disease shall not practice in any
establishment. Salon owners will be held responsible for knowingly permitting one with such
disease to practice in his or her salon. No work shall be performed on any patron having a
visible disease unless the patron shall produce a certificate from a practicing physician stating
that the patron is free from infectious, contagious, or communicable disease. A cosmetologist’s
license does not authorize such person to treat or prescribe for an infectious, contagious, or any
other disease.
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A home salon must have a solid wall to the ceiling with an outside entrance, or if a door
exists between the beauty salon and the remainder of the house, the door must be kept closed
at all times while service is being rendered.

§ 73-7-35. Practice limited to physical confines of salon.

(1) No person licensed pursuant to this chapter shall practice his or her profession
except within the physical confines of a salon possessing and displaying a properly executed
license issued pursuant to section 73-7-17. However, this requirement shall not prevent a
person from rendering his or her services to any person who may be confined to his or her
home, a hospital, or
other place as a result of illness, and cosmetologist shall be permitted to render their services to
deceased persons away from their salons.

(2) No salon owner licensed pursuant to this chapter shall allow a cosmetologist,
esthetician, manicurist or wig specialist to practice his/her profession in the salon without
possessing a valid license issued pursuant to this chapter.

§ 73-7-37.  Penalty for violation, Injunctive relief.

(1) The violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, including the use of fraudulent
statements to obtain any benefits or privileges under this chapter or practicing one of these
professions without a license, shall constitute a misdemeanor, punishable in any court of
competent jurisdiction, and any person or firm convicted of the violation of any of the provisions
of this chapter shall be fined not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00 no more than Five
Hundred Dollars ($500.00). The court shall not be authorized to suspend or suspend the
execution of the fine required under this section.

(2) If any person, firm or corporation violates any of the provisions of this chapter, the
secretary of the board, upon direction of a majority of the board and in the name of the board,
acting through the Attorney General or an attorney employed by the board, shall apply in any
chancery court of competent jurisdiction for an order enjoining such violation or for an order
enforcing compliance with the provisions of this chapter. Upon the filing of a verified petition in
the proper court and after notice as provided under the Mississippi Rules of Civil Procedure,
such court or any judge thereof, if satisfied by the sworn petition, by affidavit or otherwise, that
such person has violated any of the provisions of this chapter may issue an injunction without
notice or bond, enjoining such continued violation and such injunction shall remain in force and
effect until a final hearing. If at such hearing it is established that such person has violated or is
violating any of the provisions of this chapter, the court may enter a decree permanently
enjoining such violation or enforcing compliance with chapter. In addition, the court may enter a
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judgement against such person for attorney’s fees, court costs and the actual costs incurred by
the board in investigating the actions of such person for which the board brought the suit for an
injunction. In case of violation of any decree issued in compliance with this subsection, the court
may punish the offender for contempt of court and the court shall proceed as in other cases.

(3) The proceedings in this section shall be in addition to and not in lieu of other
remedies and penalties provided in this chapter.

§ 73-7-51. Wig Specialist license or wig salon certificate of registration required of
certain persons.

From and after June 7, 1972, no person required by section 73-7-51 through 73-7-61 to
have a wig specialist license or wig salon certificate of registration shall conduct a wig salon or
service a wig or hairpiece unless application for an appropriate certificate of registration or
license has been made. All persons required by law to obtain a certificate of registration or a
license must file application therefor within thirty (30) days after May 8, 1972. However, upon
the proper filing of an application by a holder of a current valid wigologist permit as issued by the
board, such holder shall be issued a wig specialist license, and upon the proper filing of an
application by a holder of a current, valid wig shop certificate of registration as issued by the
board such holder shall be issued a wig salon certificate of registration.

§ 73-7-53. Wig specialist license.

Any applicant who is at least seventeen (17) years of age, can read, write and speak
English, has a high school education or its equivalent, and has successfully completed no less
than three hundred (300) hours of practice and instruction and related theory in the care and
treatment of wigs over a period of no less than eight (8) weeks in an accredited school of
cosmetology is eligible to take the examination to secure a wig specialist license.

Application for an examination and license shall be accompanied by two (2) recent head
photographs. The board shall hold examinations for wig specialists at least twice a year if
applications have been received and approved and at such other time as the board may
determine.

Applicants for a wig specialist license, after having satisfactorily passed the prescribed
examination, shall be issued a wig specialist license which shall be valid for one (1) year, and
from and after July 1, 2001, shall be valid for two (2) years. All those licenses shall be subject to
renewal.

All fees for application, examination and registration for a wig specialist license and the
renewal thereof shall be the same as herein provided for cosmetologists.
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A person holding a wig specialist license may perform for compensation services limited
to a wig or hairpiece.

§ 73-7-55. Hours spent by wig specialist in training may be credited toward hours
required for cosmetologist’s examination.

Registered wig specialists desiring to pursue additional hours to be eligible for a
certificate of registration as a cosmetologist may be credited with the three hundred (300) hours
acquired in studying and training to be a wig specialist which may be applied to the number of
hours required to be eligible to take a cosmetologist’s examination.

§ 73-7-57. Wig salon license.

All salon owners shall have a wig salon license and shall pay to the board the required
license fee therefor and pay the required renewal fee for the renewal thereof. Prior to the initial
issuance of such a license, the board shall inspect the premises to determine if same qualifies
with the law, upon payment by the applicant of the required inspection fee.

A person holding a wig salon license may maintain an establishment in which services
shall be limited to wigs or hairpieces and performed only by license wig specialists and/or
licensed cosmetologists.

§ 73-7-59. Cosmetologists exempt.

Nothing in Sections 73-7-51 through 73-7-61 as amended by this House Bill No. 781,
2000 Regular Session, shall be construed to cause any person who, as of May 8, 1972, holds a
valid cosmetology license to make any application or take any additional training in order to
continued his or her practice as it then exists. Nothing in those sections shall be construed to
force any person who desires to obtain a valid cosmetology license to take any training in
addition to the fifteen hundred (1500) hours now required.

§ 73-7-61.  Retail sales exempt.

Nothing in sections 73-7-51 through 73-7-61 shall apply to retail sales of wigs or
hairpieces when such sales do not include arranging, dressing, waving, cleaning, curling,
bleaching, coloring, cutting and shaping of such wig or hairpiece sold at retail. Such retail seller
shall be exempted from all fees, inspections and other requirements of said sections. In
connection with such retail sales, wigs and hairpieces may be fitted, combed and arranged
before such retail sale is consummated.
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§ 73-7-63. Sections § § 73-7-1 through 73-7-51 repealed July 1, 2002.

Sections § § 73-7-1 through 73-7-37 and 73-7-51 through 73-7-61, Mississippi Code of
1972, which created the State Board of Cosmetology and prescribed its duties and powers, shall
stand repealed as of July 1, 2013.
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RULES AND REGULATIONS
1. GENERAL

101. AUTHORIZATION AND APPLICABILITY

l. The following Rules and Regulations are adopted in conformity with Chapter 7,
Section 73-7-7, Laws of the State of Mississippi, Code of 1972 Annotated, as
amended, pursuant to the authority vested in the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology.

Il. These Rules and Regulations are applicable to all persons licensed or registered
in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 7, laws of the State of Mississippi,
Code of 1972 Annotated, as amended, and are effective as of July 1, 2000 and will
continue pursuant to law.

102. TENSES, GENDER AND NUMBER
For the purpose of these rules and regulations, the present tense includes the past and
future tenses, and the future, the present; the masculine gender includes the feminine
and the feminine, the masculine; and singular includes the plural, and the plural the
singular.

103. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires:
I “‘Agent” means a member of the Board or any of its authorized representatives.
1 “‘Board” means the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.
1] “Cosmetology Law” or “Law” means the Mississippi code of 1972, Annotated, Title
73, Chapter 7, as amended.
I “Establishment” means cosmetological establishment; school or salon.
\ “Practitioner” means an individual who is practicing one of the professions
regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, as defined in §73-7-2.
VI. “Salon” means an establishment operated for the purpose of engaging in the
practice of cosmetology, or manicuring and pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or all of those.
VII.  “School” means an establishment, public or private, operated for the purpose of
teaching cosmetology, or manicuring, or pedicuring, or esthetics, or wigology, or all
of those.
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104.

105.

VIII.  “Student” means any person attending classes in a school licensed by the Board.

IX. “Subject” means instruction and training or study of a theoretical or skill operation.

X. “Applied effort” means the time devoted to the study of theory, attendance at
theory classes, and the actual performance or all practical skills.

XI.  “Average daily attendance” means the average daily attendance ver a three-month
period of the students enrolled in a school.

XIl.  “Full Time” means not less than 25, nor more than 40 hours per week.

X, “Part Time” means anything less than number 11, above.

XIV. “Lead Instructor” means the instructor who is in charge of the teaching program at
a licensed school.

COMMUNICATIONS

All communications with reference to licensure, rules and regulations or general
information should be addressed to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology, P.O. Box
55689, Jackson, Mississippi 39296-5689. Issues related to Schools and examinations
should be directed to the Department of School Coordination.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC RECORDS.
l. The only information which is made available to the public through a telephone
inquiry is whether or not an individual is licensed by the Board, and whether or not the
license is current. Any other request for information must be submitted in writing to the
Board office and will be released only after a review and determination as to whether the
information requested is Public Record as defined by Mississippi Statute, and only after
the cost to produce the record has been collected.
. The board will respond to a public records request within 14 days from the date the
request is received.
[l. In considering the cost for production of the record, the following will be included:
cost of production of copies, expendable printer supplies, cost of record research by a
member of the Board staff, and mailing costs. Any other unforeseen costs will be
disclosed to the individual requesting the record.
V. Licensure application files, including, but not limited to examination results are not
considered public record, and may be released only with approval of the third party. A
request for public record, including a third party release, will be considered only after or at
the time the record is actually created. An individual who wants his or her examination
record released to their school may complete and submit a release form at the time of
the examination.
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106. BOARD MEETINGS:

l. The Board holds its meetings on the last Monday of each month, beginning at 9:00
AM, unless extenuating circumstances exist which preclude same. In the event a Board
meeting is scheduled for another time, written notice will be sent to all individuals who make
written request that they be so notified.

Il. All Board meetings are open to the public, and the public is welcome, however,
public members may not participate in business discussion unless invited to do so.

Il. The public may write or call the board office at least one week in advance of the
scheduled meeting, to be placed on the agenda if they have a specific matter they wish the
board to consider.

V. Any written requests for consideration without personal appearance at the
meeting must be received in the Board office no later than five working days proceeding the
meeting.

A. Matters involving schools, students, or examinations should be directed to
the attention of the School Coordinator.
B. All other matters should be directed to the attention of the Executive
Director.
V. The Board may, at its option, set aside a period at the end of the meeting to

receive questions and comments from the public.

107. POSTING LAWS, RULES, NOTICES AND BULLETINS
An establishment must post on its premises, in a place conspicuous to the public, copies
of laws, rules, notices or bulletins as the Board may from time to time direct.

108. DISPLAY OF LICENSE
l. Every licensee must display his license in a conspicuous place within reading
distance of the public. A practitioner’s place of business is his or her working area
in the establishment.
Il. Any licensee utilizing or planning to utilize a power drill or electric file in any
manicuring procedure must post the required certificate of proficiency at his/her
working area in the establishment.

109. PERSONNEL
Receptionists, maids and other unlicensed personnel are prohibited by law from
practicing cosmetology, manicuring, esthetics, or wigology in any manner.
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110. DEMONSTRATOR’S PERMIT
An establishment must not allow a product demonstrator to demonstrate any product
without a permit which has been issued in accordance with law section 73-7-25.

111.  VIOLATIONS OF LAW; RULES AND REGULATIONS
l. All establishments licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology will be
inspected at least once per year to insure compliance with the laws and rules and regulations of
the Ms. State Board of Cosmetology.
In any instances of non-compliance with Title 73, Chapter 7 of the Laws of the
state of Mississippi (the violation) and any of the Rules and Regulations of the MS
State Board of Cosmetology, one of the following forms will be issued:

A. Establishments and individuals licensed by the Board: a citation for violation
will be issued.

B. Establishments and individuals not licensed by the Board: a Complaint of
Agent of the Ms. State Board of Cosmetology; Unlicensed Practice, will be issued.

C. Individuals failing to provide identification, when requested, to substantiate

that they are the lawful holder of a practitioner’s license: A citation for
violation will be issued to the owner and/or manager of the salon in which
they are working. Where the owner and manager are the same, only one
violation will be issued.

Il. A copy will be given to the violator with instructions to immediately complete the
reverse side by indicating what has been done to correct the non-compliance item, sign and
date the form, and forward to the Board office.

Il. A. In most cases , violators will be given the opportunity to resolve first
instances of non-compliance. Failure to respond to the citation for violation will be
recommended to the Board for Administrative hearing or for referral to the proper city/county
authorities.

B. Salon owners and/or managers who are suspected of allowing unlicensed
individuals to practice in their salon, who have refused to provide proof of
identification to agents of the board, will not be allowed to resolve the
citation for violation; they will be recommended to the Board for
Administrative hearing.

V. A second offense of the same violation within a three year period will be
recommended to the Board for Administrative Hearing or for referral to the proper city/county
authorities.

V. If, at the time of issuance, the inspector is not aware that the violation is a repeat,
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a letter will be sent to the licensee as soon as the repeat record is discovered. The letter will
advise the licensee that, because the matter is a repeat, it will be recommended for a hearing,
regardless of whether or not a response is received.

112. COMPLAINTS:
l. Any person may file a complaint with the Board of Cosmetology in accordance with
§73-7-27, Laws of the State of Mississippi.
Il. The complaint must be in writing, on a form prescribed by the board. It must be
signed, notarized, and accompanied by a Release Form, and a
Consent form that states the complainant agrees to testify to the allegations, and
that the complainant understands that the information becomes public record once
the investigation is over.
Il. When the investigation has been completed, the complaint case will be presented
to the Board, at which time the Board may:
A. Dismiss the Complaint
B. Initiate a formal complaint and notice of hearing.
V. Both the complainant and the accused will be notified of the Board’s decision.

113. STANDARDS RELATED TO COMPETENT PRACTICE
l. A practitioner may provide advanced services which are within his or her scope of
practice, as defined in §73-7-2, Laws of the State of Mississippi, Code of 1972
Ann., under the following conditions:

A. The practitioner obtains appropriate education relative to the services to be
provided;

B. The practitioner demonstrates appropriate knowledge, skills, and abilities to
provide the service;

C. The practitioner maintains documentation satisfactory to the Board of
meeting the requirements of items A. and B. of this rule;

D. The service does not involve a function or procedure which is prohibited by

any other law or rule.
Il. A cosmetologist or esthetician providing services involving exfoliation must limit the
exfoliation to the stratum corneum cells only. Microdermabrasion equipment must be
approved by the Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as a Class | device
intended for use by licensed practitioners. The practitioner must prominently display the
manufacturer’s certificate of training for each type of equipment used, and must comply
with the manufacturers’ directions in the use of each product.
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The use of FDA Class 2 or Class 3 devices is prohibited.

114.

ORAL PROCEEDINGS ON PROPOSED RULES

This rule applies to all oral proceedings held for the purpose of providing the public
with an opportunity to make oral presentations on proposed new rules and
amendments to rules before the Board pursuant to §25-43-3.104.

A. The Board will conduct an oral proceeding on a proposed rule or

amendment if requested by a political subdivision, an agency or ten (1) persons in

writing within twenty (20) days after the filing of the notice of the proposed rule.

B. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible
handwriting. Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-
size paper ( 8-1/2 inches by 11 inches) Requests may be in the form of a
letter addressed to the Board and signed by the requestor(s)

C. The date, time and place of al oral proceedings shall be field with the
Secretary of State’s office and mailed to each requestor. The oral
proceedings will be scheduled no earlier than twenty days from the filing of
this information with the Secretary of State.

D. The Board President or his designee, who is familiar with the substance of
the proposed rule, shall preside at the oral proceeding on a proposed rule.

Public Presentations and Participation

3. At an oral proceeding on a proposed rule, persons may make oral

statements and make documentary and physical submissions, which may include

data, views, comments or arguments concerning the proposed rule.

4. Persons wishing to make oral presentations at shall a proceeding shall

notify the Board at least one business day prior to the proceeding and indicate the

general subject of their presentations. The presiding officer in his or her discretion
may allow individuals to participate that have not previously contacted the

Department.

5. At the proceeding, those who participate shall indicate their name and

addresses, identify any persons or organizations they may represent, and provided

any other information relating to their participation deemed appropriate by the
presiding officer.

B. The presiding office may place time limitations on individual oral
presentations when necessary to assure the orderly and expeditious
conduct of the oral proceeding. To encourage joint oral presentations and
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to avoid repetition, additional time may be provided for persons whose
presentations represent the views of other individuals as well as their own
views.

Persons making oral presentations are encouraged to avoid restating
matters that have already been submitted in writing.

There shall be no interruption of a participant who has been given the floor
by the presiding officer, except that the presiding officer may in his or her
discretion interrupt or end the partisan’s time where to orderly conduct of
the proceeding so requires.

Conduct of Oral Proceeding.

A.

The presiding officer shall have authority to conduct the proceeding in his or
her discretion for the orderly conduct of the proceeding. The presiding
officer shall:

1. Call proceeding to order.

2. Give a brief synopsis of the proposed rule, a statement of the
statutory authority for the proposed rule, and the reasons provided by
the Board for the proposed rule.

3. The presiding officer, where time permits and to facilitate the
exchange of information, may open the floor to questions or general
discussion. The presiding officer may question participants and
permit the questioning of participants by other participants about any
matter relating to that rule-making proceeding, including any prior
written submissions make by those participants in that proceeding;
but no participant shall be required to answer any question.

4. Submissions presented by participants in an oral proceeding shall be

submitted to the presiding officer. Such submissions become the
property of the Board and are subject to the Board’s public records
request procedure.

5. The Board may record oral proceedings by stenographic or
electronic means.

115. DECLARATORY OPINIONS

These rules set forth the Board of Cosmetology’s rules governing the form and

content of requests for declaratory opinions, and the Board’s procedures regarding
the requests, as required by Mississippi Code §25-43-2.103. These rules are
intended to supplement and be read in conjunction with the provisions of the

Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law, which may contain additional
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information regarding the issuance of declaratory opinions. In the event of any
conflict between these rules and the Mississippi Administrative Procedures Law,
the latter shall govern.

A.

Any person with a substantial interest in the subject matter may request a
declaratory opinion from the Board by following the specified procedures.
“Substantial interest in the subject matter” means: an individual, business,
group or other entity that is directly affected by the Board’s administration of
the laws within its primary jurisdiction. “Primary jurisdiction of the Board
means that the board has a constitutional or statutory grant of authority in
the subject matter at issue.

The Board will issue declaratory opinions regarding the applicability to

specified facts of:

1. A statute administered or enforceable by the Board, or

2. A rule promulgated by the Board.

The Board will not issue a declaratory opinion regarding a statute or rule

which is outside the primary jurisdiction of the agency.

The Board may, for good cause, refuse to issue a declaratory opinion. The

circumstances in which declaratory opinions will not be issued include, but

are not necessarily limited to:

1. lack of clarity concerning the question presented;

2. there is pending or anticipated litigation, administrative action, or
other adjudication which may either answer the question presented
by the request or otherwise make an answer unnecessary;,

3. the statute or rule on which a declaratory opinion is sought is clear
and not in need of interpretation to answer the question presented by
the request;

4. the facts presented in the request are sufficient to answer the
question presented;

5. the request fails to contain information required by the rules or the
requestor failed to follow the procedure set forth in these rules;

6. the request seeks to resolve issues which have become moot, or are

abstract or hypothetical such that the requestor is not substantially
affected by the statue or rule on which a declaratory opinion is
sought;
7. no controversy exists concerning the issue as the requestor is not
faced with existing fact or those certain to arise which raise a
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10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

question concerning the application of the statute or rule;

the question presented by the request concern the legal validity of a
statue or rule;

the request is not based upon facts calculated to aid in the planning
of future conduct but is, instead, based on past conduct in an effort to
establish the effect of that conduct;

no clear answer is determinable;

the question presented by the request involved the application of a
criminal statute or an set of facts which may constitute a crime;

the answer to the question presented would require the disclosure of
information which is privileged or otherwise protected by law from
disclosure;

the question is currently the subject of an Attorney General’s opinion
request or has been answered by an Attorney General’s opinion;

a similar request is pending before this board or any other agency or
a proceeding is pending on the same subject matter before any
agency, administrative or judicial tribunal, or where such an opinion
would constitute the unauthorized practice of law.

where issuance of a declaratory opinion may adversely affect the
interest of the State, the Board of any of their officers or employees
in any litigations which is pending or may reasonable be expected to
arise;

the question involves eligibility for a license, permit, certificate or
other approval by the Board or some other agency, and there is a
statutory or regulatory application process by which eligibility for said
license, permit, certificate or other approval would be determined.

D. Each request must be printed or typewritten, or must be in legible
handwriting. Each request must be submitted on standard business letter-size
paper ( 8-12 inches by 11 inches). Request must be in the form of a letter
addressed to the Board.

E. All requests must be mailed, delivered or transmitted via facsimile to the
Board. The request shall clearly state that it is a request for a declaratory
opinion. No oral, telephone request or e-mail requests will be accepted for
official opinions.

F. Each request must include the full name, telephone number and mailing
address of the requestor. All request shall be signed by the person filing the
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request, who shall attest that the request complies with the
requirements set forth in these rules, including by not limited to a full,
complete and accurate statement of relevant facts and that there are
no related proceedings pending before any other administrative or
judicial tribunal.

Each request shall contain the following:

1. a clear and concise statement of all facts on which the opinion is
requested;

2. a citation to the statue or rule at issue;

3. the question(s) sought to be answered in the opinion, stated clearly;

4, a suggested proposed opinion from the requestor, state the answers

desired by petitioner and a summary of the reasons in support of
those answers;

5. the identify of all other known persons involved in or impacted by the
desired factual situation, including their relationship to the facts,
name, mailing address and telephone number; and

6. a statement to show that the person seeking the opinion has a
substantial interest in the subject matter.

Within forty-five (45) days after the receipt of a request for a declaratory

opinion which complies with the requirements of these rules, the Board shall

in writing:

1. issue a declaratory opinion regarding the specified statute or rule as
applied to the specified circumstances;

2. Decline to issue a declaratory opinion, stating the reasons for its
action; or

3. Agree to issue a declaratory opinion by a specified time bu not later

than ninety (90) days after receipt of the written request;
The forty-five (45) days period shall begin running on the first State of
Mississippi business day on or after the request is received by the Board,
whichever is sooner.
A declaratory opinion shall not become final until the expiration of sixty (60)
days after the issuance of the opinion. Prior to the expiration of sixty (60)
days, the Board may, in its discretion, withdraw or amend the declaratory
opinion for any reason which is not arbitrary or capricious. Reasons for
withdrawing or amending an opinion include, but are not limited to, a
determination that the request failed to meet the requirements of these rules
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and that the opinion issued contains a legal or factual error.
The Board may give notice to any person, agency or entity that a declaratory
opinion has been requested and may receive and consider data, facts, arguments
and opinions from other persons, agencies or other entities other than the
requestor.
Declaratory opinions and requests for declaratory opinions shall be available for
public inspection and copying in accordance with the Public Records Act and the
Board'’s public records request procedure. All declaratory opinions and requests
shall be indexed by name and subject. Declaratory opinions and requests which
contain information which is confidential or exempt from disclosure under the
Mississippi Public Records Act or other laws shall be exempt from this requirement
shall remain confidential.
The Board will not pursue any civil, criminal or administrative action against a
person who is issued a declaratory opinion from the Board and who, in good faith,
follows the direction of the opinion and acts in accordance therewith unless a court
of competent jurisdiction holds that the opinion is manifestly wrong. Any
declaratory opinion rendered by the Board shall be binding only on the Board and
the person to whom the opinion is issued. No declaratory opinion will be used a
precedent for any other transaction or occurrence beyond that set forth by the
requesting person.

2. SCHOOLS: APPROVAL OF

201. PROCEDURE FOR OPENING OF NEW SCHOOL

Procedure for filing an application for initial school approval.

A. Any person contemplating owning or operating a school must make an
appointment with the board to discuss in detail the operation and conduct of
a school.

B. Interested persons must complete a Personal Survey Form and return to

State Board of Cosmetology prior to initial meeting with the Board.
An application for a license to conduct a school must be submitted on an
application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by such
evidence, statements or documents as required, and filed with the Board at its
office in Jackson, Ms.
A. The following information must be provided with the application:
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Required Fee.

1. A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating measurements for
each area, and equipment layout.
2. 3. A detailed financial statement which indicates financial
solvency.
3. The name, address and telephone number of the

manager/supervisor, and the name, address, and registration
number of the teacher(s) of the proposed school.

4. A copy of the contract form to be used between the school and the
student.
5. A copy of proposed brochures, catalogs and advertisements

An incomplete application will be returned to the applicant within thirty (30)
days after received by the Board, with the cause for the return.

The Initial Inspection
Upon receipt and approval of Application for Approval and Personal Survey, the
Board may conduct an initial inspection.

A.

The inspection will be performed by two or more agents of the Board for the
purpose of determining:
1. Suitability of:

(@)  The proposed location.

(b)  Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing,

ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with the floor plan.

(c) Proposed items of equipment and material.

2. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed teachers
and properly qualified manager/supervisor.

The findings of the initial inspection will be submitted to the Board
for its approval at its next regular meeting. The applicant will be notified in
writing of the decision of the Board within 30 days.

If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable regarding
requirements for licensure and operation of a school of cosmetology, the
Board may waive the initial inspection, if it so desires.
Final Inspection and Approval of Proposed Schools.
If the inspection is found to be in order and the results of the initial
inspection approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the
Board, at least one of which will be a Board Member.
The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that:
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D.

1. All requirements, as indicated in the application have been strictly

adhered to by owners of the proposed school.

2. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by
copy of inspection report by local authorities.

No School will be approved until the Board has had ample opportunity to

verify sworn statements as to the actual ownership, and all other claims and

representations set forth in the “Personal Survey Form”, the “Application for

Approval”, the “Initial Inspection Report”, and the Final Inspection Report.

If all requirements and qualification are met, the Board will cause written

approval to be issued. No school will be considered approved, nor will

classes be allowed to begin, until said approval has been executed.

The Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any applicant who

fails to meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or who fails to

present satisfactory evidence of his or her business, professional and

personal integrity and experience.

Miscellaneous Information:

A.

E.

Enrollments. Students may be registered, but not admitted to class until
such time as the school has received its final approval.

Instructor. Each school must have on its staff at least one full-time
instructor who is charged with the responsibility of the teaching program,
and who is considered the lead instructor. This person must hold an active
current license in the state at the time of application for school approval.
The board may revoke or suspend the approval of any school for any
violation of any of the conditions set forth for licensing, or if further
investigation reveals misrepresentation on the part of the applicant.

202. REQUIRED SPACE FOR SCHOOLS

Schools must have a minimum square feet of floor space, according to the courses
which they propose to teach which includes, at a minimum, skill and theory
classrooms, reception area, office, two (2) restrooms, reference library,
dispensary/stock room, facial area, and locker area. This floor space is to

L.

accommodate a maximum number of students and for every student thereafter, 25
square feet of floor space per student must be added:

Cosmetology Schools - 2500 square feet, up to 40 students
Manicuring Schools - 1800 square feet, up to 28 students
Esthetics Schools - 1800 square feet, up to 28 students
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All walls, partitions or other obstructions between classrooms other than the
lecture room in schools of cosmetology must be so constructed as to provided for
continuous and uninterrupted supervision.

203. REQUIRED EQUIPMENT
l. All Schools
A. Each school must have an adequate supply of disinfectant and safety
equipment to insure that the school complies with sanitation
Rules 801 - 814, including: wet disinfectant containers, dry sanitizers,
closed cabinets for clean towels, covered soiled towel receptacles, large
covered trash can, and first aid kit.

B. Each school must have adequate resource materials to aid in the teaching
of both skill and theory subjects, including charts and visual aids, chalk board, bulletin board,
reference library, and time clock or time sheets.

C. The minimum equipment requirement must remain in full force and effect so
long as the school remains in operation.
D. All equipment must be maintained in a sanitary, safe operating order at all

times.
Il. Cosmetology Schools:
A. The minimum amount for a school of Cosmetology is as follows:

1. MaNNEQUIN......iiiiie e e e e e e e e eeeeaennees 7
(In addition to this number of practice mannequins, the school must
furnish, upon enrollment, to every student, a mannequin in good
condition for his use throughout the period of training.)

2. Time Clock or Time Sheet.............. (See Rule 308.C. and D.)

3. Shampoo Bowls and chairS......cccccoooceiieiiiiiiiiiiice 5
(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 students, additional
shampoo bowls must be added at the ratio of one for each five
students in average daily attendance in excess of 20.)

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional
dryers must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 5 students in average
daily attendance in excess of 20.)
5. Facial Chairs, complete with footrest, headrest, magnifying lamp, and
practitioner 5] (o o | 1
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(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional
facial chairs must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 20.)

6. Manicure Tables. ... 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 30 students, additional
facial chairs must be added at the ratio of 1 for each 10 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 20.)

7. Cold Wave Equipment: Sets of four doz. assorted rods.....10

8. Thinning

Shears(Pair)......ccooo i 1

9. Chemical Hair Straighteners with the following ingredients:
Thiogylocate  (bottle or package)......ccccccoiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiee, 1
Sodium Hydroxide (bottle or package)......ccccooiiiiiiiiiiieennn. 1

10.  Thermal Hair Straighteners:

COMDS...ceee e 8
Stove (not required if comb electric)......cccoooiiininnn.n. 8
Curling iron (no larger than size “G”).........ccccciiiiiiiieeiiineeen. 8

11.  Containers for antiseptic solution, per manicure table.......... 1

12.  Work station with chair and mirror...............oooiiiiiiiiii e 20
Station chairs must be so constructed that they may be elevated and
lowered either mechanically [hydraulic pump] or manually [swivel]).
(When the average daily attendance exceed 30 senior students, one
additional station per student must be added).

13.  Work table(s) for Junior Students.............ooooviiiiiiiiiiiiinn. adequate.

14.  Classroom chairs with desk rest..........cccccooiiiiiiiiiiiiie, 20

1R Esthetics Schools:

A. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in which
esthetics only is taught is as follows:

1.
chair

Facial treatment chair, treatment table, or hydraulic treatment
.................................................................... 3

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional

facial chairs must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in

average daily attendance in excess of 3)

Esthetician’s Stool ... 3

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
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esthetician’s stools must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in average daily
attendance in excess of 3)
3. Facial VapOrizZer ... .o 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
vaporizers must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 3)
4. Pulverizer Spray (MISter) ........ooooiiiiiiiii s 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
Pulverizer Sprays must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

5. Galvanic Current Apparatus or Faradic & Sinusoidal
Y 0] 0= = | L1 £
............. 1

6. High Frequency Apparatus ...........coooviiiiiieeieee e 3

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
high frequency apparatus must be added at the ratio of one per
every 2 students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

7. Heating Mask or hot towelS.............ouiiiiiiiiiii e, 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
heating masks must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

8. Heating Mitts or paraffin with mitts...............ccccoooiiiiiiiii 3 pair
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
pairs of heating mitts must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

9. INfra-red [ampP... ... 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
infra-red lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

10.  Ultra-violet [amp ....coooeiee e 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
Ultra-violet lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)

(Ao o o £ = 0 ¢ R PR 1

12.  Magnifying lamp (LOUPE)......ccooeiiieieeeeeeeeree e 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
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Magnifying lamps must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 3)
13.  Electricwax heater ... 1
(T U (111 [T = 1 o] L= PSPPI 3
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 6 students, additional
utility tables must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 3)
(In lieu of utility tables, one continuous counter top may be utilized)

15.  Table for Machinges ........cccccoovveiiiiiiiiiiiiie 1 per machine
16.  Cabinet for records Cards ...........coeveiieiiiiiiiieeeee e 1
17.  Lavatory with hot and cold running water in the treatment area........ 1
Departments of Esthetics:
B. The minimum equipment requirement for a school of cosmetology desiring

to include a department of esthetics in its training program, must be at least
one (1) of each item specified for a school of esthetics.

C. When the average daily attendance exceeds two (2), the minimum
equipment must be increased at the rate of one (1) per every two (2)
students.

Schools of Manicuring/Pedicuring:

A. The minimum equipment for a school in which a course of training in

manicuring/pedicuring is taught is as follows:

1. Manicure table fitted with adjustable lamp, client chair and operators
5] (o]o] o] g eX s F= 1 PR 10

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
manicure tables, lamps and stools must be added at the ratio of one
per every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

2. Covered containers for waste material..............cccccceeeeeiiiiennn. 10
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
covered waste containers must be added at the ratio of one per
every 1 students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

3. Cushion (8" x 12") covered with a washable slip or sanitized towel on
which clients rest arm............oooiiii 10
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
arm rests must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 10)

4. Supply tray for holding COSMEtICS.........uuuviiiiiiiiiiiiiiii 10
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10.

1.
12.

(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
cosmetic trays must be added at the ratio of one per every 1
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Finger bowl (plastic, china or glass with removal paper cups) for
holding warm water and cleanser...............cccuviiiiiiiiie e 10
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
finger bowls must be added at the ratio of one per every 1 students
in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Cotton CONLAINETS.......uiiieeecce e 10
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, Additional
cotton containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Electric heaters - for heating oil/lotion when providing a heat

g F=T a1 o1 = TP PUPUPRRR 10
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
electric heaters must be added at the ratio of one per every 1
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Disinfection containers for immersion of manicuring implements

(o U] gTaTe o] oTeT=To [N ] (= PP PPPPPPRPPPRR 10
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
disinfection containers must be added at the ratio of one per every 1
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Basins for Pedicure CleanSer...........couuviieeiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeee e 5
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
cleanser basins must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Basins for pedicure rinse wWater.............ccccoeeeiiiiiiiiiiiiee 5
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
rinse water basins must be added at the ratio of one per every 2
students in average daily attendance in excess of 10)

Electric nail files .....ooooeeeeeee e 2
Hand form with stand; demonstrational purposes.............cccccvvnnnnnnn. 5
(When the average daily attendance exceeds 10 students, additional
hand forms must be added at the ratio of one per every 2 students in
average daily attendance in excess of 10).

The clinic floor in a manicure school must be ventilated to the outside air.
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204. NAME OF SCHOOL
A school of Cosmetology must be designated as such by a sign large enough to be
clearly legible.

205. SCHOOL ADVERTISING

Advertising of a proposed school is to be limited to the procurance of students.

A licensed school is allowed to advertise the prices of clinical services outside the

premises as long as the following conditions are met:

A. The advertisement will clearly state, in bold print that “all work is
performed by students”.

B. No comparison of prices is made to any other school or to licensed salons.

206. SCHOOL CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP; ADDITION OF PARTNERS; CHANGE OF
LOCATION; CHANGE OF TRADE NAME; RENOVATION OF EXISTING SCHOOL.
No license is transferable from one owner to another or from one location to another.

Change of Ownership

A. School owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a

school must notify the board, in writing, prior to sell or transfer.

B. An application for Initial School Approval must be submitted to the board by

the prospective owners, in accordance with Rules 201 through 203.

C. The sale or transfer must not be completed until the application of the new
owner has been approved.

Addition of Partners:

A. School owners who contemplate the addition of a partner, must notify the
board, in writing, of their intent to so do.
B. At any time the original applicant is no longer a partner in the school, an

Application for Initial School Approval will be required, in accordance with
Rules 201 through 205.

Change of location:

A. School owners who contemplate a relocation of a school must submit an
application for relocation on a form prescribed and provided by the board.
The approved application requires the submission of, at least:
1. A floor plan of the proposed school, indicating room measurements,

placing of equipment, partitions, entrances and exists, and plumbing.
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1.
2.

Copies of brochures, catalogs, or any advertising materials in use or
proposed to be used.

2. Certificate or letter indicating that the facility has met building or fire
code requirements of local authorities.

3. Schedule of teachers, indicating full time/part time.

4. Detailed Financial Statement indicating individual or corporate
solvency.

5. Required fee.
Relocation of a Cosmetology School within a radius of 15 miles from the
existing school may not require submission of:

1. Copies of brochures, catalogs, or advertising materials, unless there
have been substantial changes made.
2. Schedule of Teachers, unless there has been a change in those

schedules from that which is on file at the board.
Upon receipt and approval of Application for School Approval, the board
may conduct an Initial Inspection. The inspection will be performed by two
or more agents of the Board of Cosmetology for purposes of determining:
1. Suitability of:
the proposed location
Proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space, plumbing, lighting, etc,

in accordance with floor plan.

3.

Proposed items of equipment and material.

2. Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed teachers
and Manager/Supervisor.
3. The findings of this initial inspection will be submitted to the board for

its approval at its next regular meeting, and the applicant will be
notified in writing, of the decision of the board, within 30 days.

4. If the Board determines that the applicant is knowledgeable
regarding requirements for licensure and operating of a school of
cosmetology, the Board may waive the initial inspection if it so
desires.

If application is found to be in order and the results of the initial inspection is

approved, a final inspection will be made by two (2) agents of the Board, at

least one of which will be a board member.

1. The final inspection will be conducted in order to determine that all
requirements as indicated in the application, have been strictly
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207.

adhered to by the owners.

2. School has met building or fire code requirements as evidenced by
inspection report of local authorities
3. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be

issued. No school will be considered approved for licensure until
same has been executed.

E. The Cosmetology Board reserves the right to deny school approval to any
applicant who fails to meet the requirements for conducting a school and/or
who fails to present satisfactory evidence of his or her business,
professional and personal integrity.

V. Change of Trade Name:
A school must not change its trade name without having first notified the Board in
writing of its intent to do so.

V. Renovation:

Before any maijor alteration or renovation of school is made, the plan of such

alteration or renovation must first be submitted to the Board in writing and written

approval must be received.

SATELLITE CLASSROOM:
l. Definition: A satellite classroom is a supplemental training space located near the
main school for the purpose of training an overflow of students who cannot be
accommodated at the main school.
A. A satellite classroom must be close enough to the main school to assure
immediate supervision by the main school. The satellite classroom may be
no further than five miles from the main school.

2. A clinic may not be operated at a satellite classroom location.
C. A school is responsible and accountable to the Board for its satellite
classroom location.
1. If ownership of the separate facility changes from that of the main
school, board approval does not continue for the satellite facility.
2. The separate classroom must bear the same name as the main

school, and must be identified as such by an outside sign.
I. Application Procedure:

A. An application for a Separate Classroom Location must be submitted on an
application form prescribed and provided by the Board, accompanied by
such evidence, statements, or documents as therein required and filed with
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208.

the Board at its office in Jackson, Mississippi.

B. The following is to be submitted with the application:

1. A fee of $50.00), which covers the cost of the inspection of the

facility, and $10.00 for a duplicate of the main school license.

2. An area map noting the location of the satellite school in respect to
the main school. The map must include an appropriate scale.

3. A Floor plan, indicating total square feet in the satellite classroom,
and square feet of each section of the classroom, if it should consist
of more than one section.

4. A description of the outside sign.
Approval Procedure:
A. Upon receipt and approval of an Application for Satellite Classroom

approval, the Board will conduct an inspection to determine:
1. The suitability of:
(@) the proposed location
(b)  proposed classroom, including adequacy of floor space,
plumbing, ventilation, lighting, etc., in accordance with floor
plan.
(c) Proposed items of equipment and material.
2. Satisfactory evidence of proper provision for duly licensed teacher(s).
3. If all requirements and qualifications are met, written approval will be
issued. No satellite classroom will be considered approved, nor will
classes be allowed to begin in the satellite classroom until this
approval has been executed.

INSTRUCTION STAFF

There must be on the staff at least one full time instructor at all times, who holds a
current, active license as an instructor in this state.
Immediately upon employment, the school must submit on a form approved by the
Board, a Certification of Instructor employment which indicates full or part-time
employment.
The Board must be notified in writing, within ten (10) days of any changes in
instructor staff of a school of cosmetology.
When the enrollment exceeds 20 students there must be added to the staff an
additional full-time instructor for every 20 students thereafter, Each student,
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209.

VL

VII.

VIII.

including student instructor, cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician, and part time is
counted as full time enrollment.

For each full-time instructor there can be no more than three student instructors.
Absence from the classroom of the instructor must be reported to the Board of
Cosmetology, Department of School Coordination. Arrangement must be made for
an instructor replacement during vacations, prolonged illness, etc. When the
instructor is absent for one day or less, a student instructor or senior student may
be left in charge. No chemical work is permitted when the school is left in the
charge of a senior student.

An instructor/student instructor is strictly prohibited from practicing on paying
patrons except in a classroom situation where such practice is for demonstration
only.

All practice work by student is to be supervised and checked by an instructor
licensed by this Board.

All student instructors must at all times, be under the direct supervision of an
instructor who holds a current, active license issued by the Board, except as
provided by Rule 208.VI..

Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the power drill or electric file
in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved certification that
they are proficient in the use of the instrument. All individuals seeking licensure
after January 1, 1998, must present this certification prior to seeking licensure.

REQUIRED DISPLAY
All schools must display the following in a location conspicuous to the public:

Main School Facilities:

A. The current school license

B The current license of any instructors teaching in the school

C. The current cosmetology license of any student instructors.

D The Sanitation Rules and Regulations of the Board.

E A notice, in letters large enough to be read across the length of the room,

that states: “All services in this school are performed by students who are in
training; all work must be inspected by an instructor.”

F. The manicuring power drill/electric file certification of proficiency for any
instructor teaching the use of same.

Satellite Classroom Facilities:

A. Duplicate school license.



B. A sign, which states, “Satellite classroom only. No clinic work performed in
this facility.”

210. SEPARATION OF SCHOOLS FROM OTHER BUSINESSES:

l. A school cannot be conducted with any other business, including a salon. A school
and another business must be separated by walls of permanent construction, and
must not have doors or openings between them.

A. Any school which was licensed prior to the effective date of these rules, and
which was approved for licensure contrary to this rule, is exempted from
same.

I. Schools may offer cosmetology products and related articles for retail sale.

211. SERVICES FOR THE PUBLIC; RESTRICTIONS
212. Students may render services to the public only under the direct supervision of a
licensed instructor.
213. Astudent in a school cannot receive a salary or commission from the school for
any cosmetology, manicuring, pedicuring, wigology, or esthetic services while he is
enrolled in the school as a student.

212. STUDENT-SCHOOL CONTRACTS:
A school is required to execute in duplicate, a contract between itself and a student. A
contract between a school and a student must bear the signature of a school official and
the student or parent or guardian, if the student is under eighteen years of age. A fully
executed copy of the contract must be given to the student; and one copy must remain at
all times in the school’s student file.

213. SCHOOL INSPECTIONS

l. The board, or its authorized agents, may inspect schools on a regular basis as it
deems necessary. The intent and purpose of the inspection is to be determination of
compliance with the laws, rules, and regulations of the board.

Il. In order to insure that operators of a newly licensed school understands and fully
complies with records keeping requirements as set out in Rule Section 3., a special on-site audit
may be performed.

A. The audit may take place at the conclusion of the first 90 days of a new
school’s operations.
B. The audit includes, at a minimum:
1. A review of the student academic files to insure that enroliment forms
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are properly prepared and on hand, and that proof of secondary education requirements are on
hand.

2. A review of all documentation supporting and substantiating student
credit hours, including sign in sheets or time cards, and daily reports.

3. An audit of student credit hours which shall encompass at least 10%
of the school’s reported and verified enrollment at that time.

4. A review of the school’s procedures and records which deal with
students who are no longer in attendance at the school.

214, SCHOOL CLOSURE:

1. Immediately after a school ceases operations, it must notify the board of the
closure by Certified Mail.

2. Within ten (10) days after a school ceases operation, it must forward student
records to the board. These records must consist of, but not be limited to:
enrollment information which has not been previously submitted to the Board,
records of academic progress, a Final Report which accurately reflects credit
hours earned, through the last date of attendance, proof of secondary education
which has not previously been submitted to the Board, a report which certifies any
financial obligation of the student to the school, along with proof of that financial
obligation. Files and documentation relating to federal tuition assistance funding
should not be forwarded to the Board of Cosmetology.

3. In the event a school ceases operations for a period of more than thirty (30) days,
that school is considered by the Board to be officially closed, and new license is
required in accordance with the Laws of the State of Ms., Section 73-7-16, and
Rule 201, prior to operations resuming, either under original ownership or new

ownership, except by notice for vacation or break, or acts of God.

3. SCHOOLS; STUDENT ENROLLMENT; CURRICULUM; RECORDS

301. REQUIREMENTS FOR ENROLLMENT
l. Cosmetologist, manicurist, Esthetician and Wigologist must:
A. Have at least a tenth (10") grade education or its equivalent.
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4.

Applicants who do not have a high school diploma may submit transcript or
report card as proof of their educational qualifications. Proof of educational
qualification must be submitted to the board not later than 30 days after date
of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be granted until the proof
of educational qualification has been received in the board office.

At least 7 credits are required in order to be considered as completion of a
tenth grade education.

Any student who enrolls with a 10" grade education must sign a statement
indicating that they understand that they are not eligible to sit for the
licensing examination until they have completed the 12" grade or its
equivalent.

When a student does not meet the educational requirement, such student

may take a GED. Results of such test must be filed not later than 90 days after
date of enrollment. After this time period, no hours can be granted until the proof
of educational qualification has been received in the board office.

B.___ Benoless than 16 years of age. An enrollee who is less than the minimum

licensing age of 17 must submit a copy of his/her Birth Certificate along with

other enrollment documents.

C.

Be able to read, write and speak English.

. Student Instructor must:

A.

moow

Have a current Mississippi license to practice in the field in which he/she is
enrolling as a student instructor.

1. The registration number must be file with the enrolling school and the
board at the time of enroliment.
2. The license of the student instructor must be posted at the schooal, in

a location conspicuous to the public, and must be available for
inspection by the board, or its authorized agent(s) during regular
business hours.
Be no less than 20 years of age.
Have a high school education or its equivalent.
Be a graduate of a licensed beauty school in this or any other state.
Be required to have proof of two (2) years active practical experience as a
licensed cosmetologist, manicurist, or esthetician, as the case may be,
when enrolling in the 750 hour course for cosmetology instructor training or
the 600 hour course for esthetics or manicuring instructor training
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If the student instructor lacks the required experience, then the course of
training must be:

1. Cosmetology - 2000 hours

2. Esthetics - 1000 hours

3. Manicuring - 1000 hours

Be able to read, write and speak English

302. EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES
The following equipment and supplies must be issued by the school, to each
student, upon enrollment, according to their course of training:

A.

B.

Cosmetologist:

1. Approved textbook
2. Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations book
3. Mannequin
4, A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:
Rollers, ASSOIMEAd.........cooeuiieeiiiii e 4 dozen
BrUSNES. ... 4
COMDbS e 4
Afro RAKE....eeeeeeeeeeeee e 1
Large, heavy comb, for comb out/color...........cccccciiiniiiiinnnnnnn. 1
Scissors, straight ... 1 pair
Razor & blades (DOX) oo 1
Curling Iron ( size no larger than a quarter) ...........cccccoiiiiieieinnnn. 1
ClPPIES, BOX oot ————— 1
T =10 ] 0o To T o= T o1 T 1
TWEEBZEIS .. 1
Tint brush or applicator bottle ..., 1
Manicuring Equipment:
PUSNEr 1
Orange WO0Od SHCK .....ouiiiiiiiiiiiiiieiee e 1
File or emery board ... 1
Cuticle (917 0] o= =T RPRRSRRRRR 1
Nail — brush 1
Manicuring:

1. Approved Text book
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(Note:

Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations Book.
Hand form and holder

Wet Sanitizer

A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:

Finger BOWL. . 1
NaIl  BrUSH. .. 1
Nail tips, Various SiZeS..........ceuuuuuuuiiiiiiieeeeee e 1 package
Student  sculpture  kit, with  powder, odorless liquid,
brush, forms, and dauber.............ccoooviiiiiiii e, 1
Emery board, regular...........oooo 1
Emery board, Wide...........ooooiiiiii e 1
Buffer disks, fine & medium.........ccooouiiiiiiiiiiee e 3 each
Cuticle nippers ( Or SCISSOIS) ........uvvuuiiiiiiieieeeieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeevenaraaaans 1 pair
Metal PUSHEr ... 1
Orange wood StICK .......oooiiiiiiiccce e 1
TWEEBZEIS oot e 1
Nail base coat/top coat ..o 1
RIAge fIller ..o 1
CULICIE Ol e 1
NaIl GIUE oo e 1

nail polish, quick dry and remover [both acetone and non-acetone]
should be dispensary items.)

C. Esthetics:

1.
2.

Approved textbook
Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations Book
A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:

SKiN ClEANSET ... 4 oz.
SKin Freshener ... 4 oz.
MOISTUNIZEI et e e 1
Foundation: light, medium and dark ..........ccoooiiiiiiiiiiii. 1 ea.
Concealer: light, medium and dark...............cceeeeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnn, 1 ea.
Blusher: light, medium and dark ..........ccoovvmimiiiiiiiiiiiiee e, 1 ea.
Eye liner pencil ... 1 ea.
Liquid or cream masCara .............ceeeeeeviieeiiiii e 1 ea.
Wedge SPONGES ....eeeiiiiiiiiiiiieeee ettt 1 pk.



303.

D.

POWAEE DIUSH e 1

Contour brush ... - 1
FaY o] o] [Toz= 1 o] = PR 1 pk.
Plastic spatulas ... 1 doz.
Wigology:
1. Approved textbook
2. Ms. State Board of Cosmetology Law; Rules and Regulations Book
3. A kit which contains the following minimum equipment and supplies:

Head FOrm.. ... 1
LA 1 PP RPPRRR 3

BIUSKNES. ... 4

COMDS...ceee e 4

Afro RAKE OF PiCK.......oiiiiiiiiiiee e, 1
Large Heavy Comb..........ooooiiiiiiiiicccee e 1
ScCissors, Straight...........eeeeeiiiiiiii s 1 pair
Razor & Blades......cccoooiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeee e 1 box
Texturizing Shears...........ccoov e 1 pair

Curling TFON .. 1
Clips OF ClamPsS.......uuuiiiieei i 1 Pk.
€] U= TSSO 1

Glue  APPIICALON. ...ciiiieeeeeeee e 1
GlUE REMOVET......ooeieeee e 1

Hair for EXtensioNnS...........ooooiiiiiiiiiiiee Variety
Hair WS, o 2
T PN et 1 Pk
Water Bottle......coooeeeee e 1
(07 [T 0] 01 = P RURSRSR 1 Box
Rollers, ASSOMEd..........ooivniiiieeeeeee e 4 Dozen

A student is not to be required to pay for supplies used in assigned practice work

or in clinic floor patron services.

CURRICULUM

Cosmetologist: The curriculum for students enrolled in a course of 1500 hours of
training extended over a period of not less than nine months is as follows:

A.

Theory requirements: 230 hours in the following subjects:

60



Sanitation and Disinfection
Personal Hygiene
Professional Ethics & Salesmanship
Anatomy
Trichology
Onychology
Chemistry
Safety Precautions
State Cosmetology Law, Rule and Regulations
Skill Demonstration
Any other related theory subjects
1. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a
licensed instructor on the basis of 4 hours minimum per week throughout the entire course of
instruction.
2. Students are not to be permitted to leave a theory class to work on
patrons.
B. Skill Requirements: 1200 hours in the following subjects:
Shampoos and Rinses
Scalp and Hair Treatments
Hair Shaping; Scissors and Razor
Hair Styling, including Pin Curls and Finger Waves
Care and Styling of Wigs
Manicure and Pedicure
Permanent Waving
Hair Coloring and Lightening
Chemical Hair Relaxing
Facials and Makeup
Thermal Pressing
Croquignole Curling
Safety Precautions
Salon Management
Any other related skill subjects
Skill training and clinic work will be assigned and supervised by a licensed
instructor
C. Unassigned: 70 hours, theory or skill, used at instructor’s discretion as need
of student dictates.
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Il. Manicurist: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 350 hours of
training extended over a period of not less than nine weeks is as follows:
A. Theory Requirements: 85 hours in the following subjects:
Personality and Professional Conduct
Bacteriology
Sanitation and Disinfection
Manicuring
Pedicuring
Disease and Disorders of the Nail
Anatomy and Physiology of the Hand, Arm, Foot and Leg
Salon Management & Business Practices
State Cosmetology Law, Rules and Regulations
Safety Precautions
Skill Demonstration
Any other related theory subjects
1. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a

licensed instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week
throughout the entire period of instruction.

2. Students are not to be permitted to leave a theory class to work on
patrons.
B. Skill Requirements: 265 hours in the following subjects:

Manicure: Plain and Specialty
Pedicure: Plain and Specialty
Sculptured Nails
Nail Tips
Nail Overlays
Nail Mends
Fill-ins
Electric Nail File
Sanitation and Disinfection
Safety Precautions
Salon Management
Any other related skill subjects
Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed
instructor
Il. Esthetician: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 600 hour of training
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extended over a period of not less than 15 weeks is as follows:
A. Theory Requirements: 100 hours in the following subjects:
Sanitation and Disinfection
Personal; Hygiene
Professional Ethics and Salesmanship
Anatomy and Physiology of Skin
Chemistry
Hair Removal
Use and Maintenance of Electrical Implements and Machines
Safety Precautions
Cosmetology Law and Rules and Regulations
Skill Demonstration
Any other related theory subjects
1. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a
licensed instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire period of
instruction.
2. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on
patrons.
B. Skill Requirements: 500 hours in the following subjects:
Skin Conditions and Treatments
Client Consultations
Sanitation and Disinfection
Skin Care: Manual
Skin Care: Machine
Professional Makeup
Hair Removal
Beautification of Eyes
Salesmanship
Salon Management
Safety Precautions
Any other related skill subjects
Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed
instructor.
V. Wig Specialist: The curriculum for student enrolled in a course of 300 hours of
training extended over a period of not less than 8 weeks is as follows:
A. Theory Requirements: 75 hours in the following subjects:
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Sanitation and Disinfection

Personal Hygiene

Professional Ethics and Salesmanship

Bacteriology

Wig Care

Wig Shaping

Wig Coloring

Wig Fitting and Adjusting

Extensions, Braiding, and Weaving

Safety Precautions

State Cosmetology Law and Rules and Regulations

Skill Demonstration Classes

Any other related theory subject

Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a
licensed instructor on the basis of 7 hours minimum per week
throughout the entire period of instruction.

Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on

patrons.

B. Skill Requirements: 225 hours in the following subjects:
Wig Shampooing and Conditioning
Wig Shaping: Scissors and Razor
Wig Care and Styling
Wig Coloring
Extensions, Braiding and Weaving: Blocking and Sewing
Wig Measuring: Blocking and Fitting
Safety Precautions
Salon Management
Any other related skill subjects
Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed
instructor.
V. Student Instructor:
A. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for a cosmetology

instructor training course consists of:

750 hours for those applicants with two or more years active

experience.

2,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active
64



experience.
3. The subject matter and hours for each are:
750 hour Course 2000 Hour Course
12 hours Theory Observation 32 hours
68 hours Skill Observation 181 hours
(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching)
164 hours  The Professional Teacher 437 hours
Including:

Teacher Personality

Technical Knowledge

Teacher Characteristics

Teachers as Professionals
Preparation for Teaching;
Planning the Course
Lesson Plans
Steps of Teaching
99 hours Student Motivation and Learning 264 hours
Including:
Laws Governing Learning Process
Student Motivation
Student Participation
Student Personalities
Slow Learner Vs. Gifted Learner
332 hours  Methods, Management & 885 hours
Materials
Including:
Methods, Procedures &
Techniques of Teaching
Classroom Management
Teaching Materials

65 hours  Testing and Evaluation 174 hours
10 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and 27 hours
Regulations
4. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be

made, up to 10% as student needs may require.
B. The curriculum for a student enrolled in a school for an esthetician instructor
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training course and a manicurist instructor training course consists of:
1. 600 hours for those applicants with two or more years active
experience.
2. 1,000 hours for those applicants with less than two years active
experience.
3. The subject matter and hours for each are:
600 hour Course 1000 Hour Course
10 hours Theory Observation 16 hours
54 hours Skill Observation 90 hours
(The observation hours must be acquired prior to practice teaching)
131 hours  The Professional Teacher 223 hours
Including:
Teacher Personality
Technical Knowledge
Teacher Characteristics

Teachers as Professionals
Preparation for Teaching;
Planning the Course
Lesson Plans
Steps of Teaching
79 hours Student Motivation and Learning 132 hours
Including:
Laws Governing Learning Process
Student Motivation
Student Participation
Student Personalities
Slow Learner Vs. Gifted Learner
264 hours  Methods, Management & 436 hours
Materials
Including:
Methods, Procedures &
Techniques of Teaching
Classroom Management
Teaching Materials
54 hours Testing and Evaluation 90 hours
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8 hours Cosmetology Law, Rules and 13 hours

Regulations
4. Of the designated hours for each category, an adjustment may be
made, up to 10% as student needs may require.
C. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor is required to have

completed twelve semester hours in college courses approved by the board. It is strongly
recommended that the student seek approval of subject matter from the board prior to actual
enrollment in the courses.

1. At least one three-hour course must be acquired within a classroom
setting; all others may be acquired through self study or correspondence courses.
2. Three of the required twelve hours must be acquired in one of the

following subjects:
Introduction & Philosophy of Vocational Education
Development & Use of Instructional Materials
Vocational Curriculum Development
Methods of Instruction
Communications
Testing & Evaluation
Business Law
English
Business Administration
Any other Methodology course, with Board approval
3. The additional hours may be acquired in any combination of the
following elective subjects:

Psychology
Sociology
Mathematics
Trade & Job Analysis and Course Construction
Methods of Teaching Trade Subjects
Shop Organization & Management
Computer
Principles of High School Teaching
Adult Learner
Disadvantaged & Handicapped Student
Industrial Human Relations
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Safety & First Aid ( must include CPR
Problems of the Family
Any other related courses, with Board Approval
4. Proof of the acquisition of the course must be submitted to the Board
in the form of an original transcript from the college or university from which the courses are
acquired. The transcript must bear the seal of the school and the signature of the Registrar.
Copies are not acceptable.
D. Prior to application for examination, a student instructor must attend one
Board “methods of teaching” seminar.
VI. Cross Over Barbers: The curriculum for a licensed barber enrolled in a 500 hour
course, as provided for in §73-7-13, extended over a period of not less than 12 2 weeks
is as follows:
A. Theory Requirements: 65 hours
1. Theory class is to be conducted in a separate classroom by a licensed
instructor on the basis of 5 hours minimum per week throughout the entire period of instruction.
2. Students are not permitted to leave a theory class to work on patrons.
2. Skill Requirements: 435 hours:
Skill training and clinic work is to be assigned and supervised by a licensed

instructor.
VII.  Credit hours may be granted to a student in any course of training for
demonstrations and for product knowledge being taught by suppliers, provided:
A. Alicensed instructor is in attendance at all times.
B. The demonstrator holds a current permit issued by the board for this
purpose.
C. If the demonstration/product knowledge is acquired off-campus, a sign-in

sheet must be maintain by the school authority, and a copy sent to the
board with the next regular monthly report.

304. ATTENDANCE:

l. Full-time students may be credited with no more than 40 hours weekly. Hours
acquired in excess of 40 hours per week maximum may be applied as make-up
hours, provided they are used for that purpose within the month in which they were
acquired.

Il. A high school student wishing to enroll part-time must acquire no less than two (2)
months training as a full-time student before being allowed part-time status.

Il. Student Instructor:
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A. Cosmetology instructor training extends over a period of not less than
nineteen (19) weeks, provided however, that not more than 40 hours weekly
are credited.

B. Esthetics and manicuring instructor training extends over a period of not
less than fifteen (15) week, provided however, that not more than 40 hours
weekly are credited.

C. When the required number of hours has been acquired, the individual can
no longer function as a “student instructor”. In order to function in an
instructional capacity at any school, the student must make application for
examination, as stipulated in §73-7-15(4) of the Laws of the State of Ms.,

Ann., Amend.,
V. Break in Attendance/Failure to apply for examination:
A. Where there is a break in attendance of at least three (3) years, but no

more than five (5) years, students will be credited with two-thirds of the
original hours acquired. Where such break in attendance exceed five (5)
years, but less than ten (10), students are credited with one-half of the
original hours acquired. After a break in attendance of ten (10) or more
years, no hours are credited.

B. Where a portion of the hours for the completion of a course of training was
acquired out-of-state, but the student did not complete the course in that
state, the break in attendance rule applies to the student who enrolls in a
school in Mississippi for the completion of his/her training.

C. Where an individual has completed a course of training in this state, or any
other state, and licensure is not obtained within 365 days after completion
of said course, “brush up” hours of training are required before the
individual is eligible for examination. The following rates of credit apply:
1. 366 days to three years:

10% of the total prescribed hours for the course of
training which was completed.
2. Over three years to seven years:
25% of the total prescribed hours for the course of
training which was completed.
3. Over seven years:
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305.

306.

hours

50% of the total prescribed hours for the course of training which was
completed.

If there is reason to believe that the individual cannot be licensed prior to
the end of the first year after graduation, the Board cannot accept an
application for examination. There must be an adequate span of time in
which the application can be approved, the individual scheduled for
examination, and examination grades received and recorded.

D. This provision does not apply to a person whose break in attendance, or
failure to acquire licensure is due to a service in armed forces during period
of war.

V. Any hours acquired toward a cosmetology course may be applied toward either a

manicuring, esthetics, or wig specialist course, provided the hours acquired during
the cosmetology training are applicable to the course of training to which the hours
are to be applied.

TRANSFER STUDENTS

l. Hours acquired are transferable from one licensed school to another.

Il. No consideration is given by the board for transfer until all financial obligations to
the attendant school have been met.

INSIGNIA OR BADGES
Each student and instructor engaged in a course of training must wear a badge signifying
his/her status:

Freshman insignia worn by cosmetology students who have less than 240
Junior insignia worn by cosmetology students with 240 to 749 hours

Senior insignia worn by cosmetology students with 750 to 1500 hours

Instructor insignia worn by all licensed instructors

Student Instructor insignia worn by all students engaged in instructor training
Manicurist insignia worn by all students engaged in a manicurist course
Esthetician insignia worn by all students engaged in a special esthetics course
Wig Specialist insignia worn by all students engaged in wigology training

Special Trainee insignia worn by all students engaged in advanced and brush up
training
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307.

WORK UPON PAYING PATRON
A student enrolled in a school for a course of training can be assigned work upon a
patron for services only after he/she has completed the following hours of training and
instruction:

Cosmetologist 240 hours
Manicurist 40 hours
Esthetician 96 hours
Wig Specialist 48 hours

Students are not permitted to accept pay or remuneration of any kind during the
course of training except cosmetic sale commissions or tips.

An instructor or student instructor can not work upon a patron paying for services
unless he/she is doing so in a teaching situation.

308. RECORDS, FORMS AND APPLICATIONS

All records must be made available to the board or any of its agents at any time

during business hours

Each student must make application for enrollment on forms approved by the

Board.

A. The original of the enrollment form must be filed with the board office no
later than 30 days after the date of enroliment. After this time, no hours are
granted until the enrollment form has been received in the board office.

B. The following must be submitted with the enroliment form:
1. Proof of at least a tenth (10™) grade education, or its equivalent (See
Rule 301.A.1.)
2. A statement certifying that the student has received the following:
a. Copy of student/school contract
b. Copy of school rules and regulations
C. Copy of the Mississippi Cosmetology Law, and Rules and

Regulations book.

Approved text book
Mannequin or hand form, as the case may be
f. Student kit adherent to the rules and regulations of the board.

Each student must record on the time clock, or time sheet, as approved by the
board, when starting or completing daily instruction or training, when leaving and
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VL

VII.

VIII.

returning to school premises, and the commencement and termination of lunch
period.

Credit for attendance is granted to a student only on time registered and hours of
applied effort. No credit attendance is allowed unless a time card or time sheet
verifying attendance is on file.

A. Unless the school utilizes a time clock, the board approved “Student Daily
Sign-in and Out Sheet” must be used.
B. All student clock hours must be derived from either a time card or the

approved form; no other is accepted by the board to substantiate the
students’ acquired hours.

C. If a student fails to sign/clock in or out, or if another person signs/clocks in
or out for a student, hours are not granted for that time period.
D. Should an error occur, changes may be made only by the supervising

instructor and must bear the signature of the instructor and the student at
the point of change. Failure to do so results in non-credit of hours for that
time period.
A daily report, approved by the Board, must be utilized by each student, which lists
all subjects taught in the course of training and provided in the curriculum.

A. The daily report must recapitulate the student’s work for the day, and must
support the time card/sign-in sheet for that day.
B. The daily report must be maintained at the student’s work station and must

be initialed by both the instructor and the student daily.
On or before the 10" of each month following enroliment, a monthly summary
report of hours acquired on each student must be submitted to the office of the
board, and one copy must be posted on the bulletin board in the school.
In the event a student withdraws from classes before completing the course, a final
transcript of his/her hours and grades, certified by the school, must be filed with
the Board within 30 days. A copy of the final transcript must be transmitted to the
student by the school at no cost to the student.
Any student who wishes to re-enroll after an absence of 30 days, and is approved
by the school for re-enrollment, must complete a re-enrollment form as approved
by the board.
Upon completion of training, a final transcript of student hours and grades, certified
by the school, must be filed with the Board within 30 days. A copy of the final
transcript must be transmitted to the student by the school at no cost to the
student.
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XI.

All records must be retained by the school for a period of five years, and until such
time as the student has been licensed.

The Board reserves the right to verify student records of hours acquired, at any
time it deems necessary during business hours.

309. LICENSING EXAMINATION PASS/FAIL RATIO:
The Board of Cosmetology maintains records of the results of each student’s

licensing examination, by school. If, at any time, it is determined that the average
grades of graduates of a school, fall below 70 (passing) on either the written
examination or any segment of the practical examination for a minimum period of

six months, the Board will take the following action:

A.

The owner and instructional staff of the school will be invited to meet with
the Board to discuss the problem.

Within 30 days from the date of the meeting with the Board, the school will
submit a course of action or "compliance plan” which will indicate their
awareness of the problem and which will set forth in sufficient detail what
steps they plan to take in an attempt to improve the pass/fail ratio.

The school will be allowed a minimum period of six months in which to
improve the average grades to a passing average. If the school can
demonstrate that an insufficient number of students have graduated or
qualified for examination to allow a fair review of the examination average,
the board may, at its discretion, allow a compliance plan to be in effect for
longer than six months.

At the conclusion of the agreed upon compliance plan period, if the average

examination grades of the school have not improved, the Board may take the necessary action
to suspend or revoke the school license.
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4. EXAMINATIONS

401. EXAMINATION ELIGIBILITY
l. Eligibility Requirements

A. Cosmetologists, manicurists, estheticians, and wig specialists must:
1. Be at least 17 years of age.
2. Be able to read, write and speak English.
3. Have at least a twelfth (12™) grade education or its equivalent.
a. Proof of completion of high school education may be

submitted in the form of a diploma, or certified transcript which reflects graduation data. If the
education was acquired by GED, an original GED transcript must be submitted to the Board.

b. Where the secondary education was obtained outside of the

United States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of

completion, along with an original translation which has been

prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service, and
which certifies that the document is considered to be proof of the
equivalent of a 12™ grade education.

C. A high school education received from a distance learning
entity will only be accepted if that entity is accredited by an
accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of
Education.

2. Any other document and/or affidavit which constitutes reliable

proof of completion of high school education may be required by the

Board.

B. An application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by

the Board and accompanied by the following:

1. Required fee.

2. Two recent head photographs of the applicant, taken within 90 days
prior to application.

3. Certified transcript of completion of a course of training for which
application for licensure is being made, as stipulated in Rule 303., and
reflecting a grade average of no less than 85%.

C. The Board will make reasonable accommodations for candidates having a
physical or mental impairment that limits one or more major life activities, as defined by the
Americans with Disabilities Act. An “Accommodation Request Form” should be submitted with
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the application for examination. Additional information regarding qualifying for special
accommodation should be addressed to the Board, attention of the School Coordinator’s

Department.

Il. Out-Dated License:

A.

Any person who has been licensed in this sate, and whose license has
expired for a period of three (3) or more years, must make application for
examination.

The application for examination must be submitted on a form prescribed by
the Board and must be accompanied by:

1. The required fee.

2. Two recent head photographs of the applicant, taken within
90 days prior to application.

3. Record of last renewal, including registration number, and date of
expiration.

[l. Out of State Applicant:

C.

Any person who is licensed by a state with whom Mississippi does not have
provision for reciprocity licensure, or any student who is at least seventeen
years of age, can read, write, and speak English, and has successfully
completed a course of training in another state which meets this state’s
minimum requirements, but is not licensed in that state, may be eligible for
licensure by examination.

Prior to making application for examination, the applicant must:

1. Complete an Application of Intent. The Board approved form, Out of
State Applicant’s Application of Intent to Apply for Examination must be
completed in its entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology.

2. a. Provide information related to the completion of a course of
training which meets this state’s minimum requirements:

Cosmetologist 1500 hours

Manicurist 350 hours

Esthetician 600 hours

Wigologist 300 hours

The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be

issued by the board in which the training was acquired or the

license is held. If the state in which the applicant is currently

licensed is also the state in which the training was acquired,
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then only one affidavit is required; otherwise, the applicant
must obtain two affidavits as applicable.

b. The affidavit/certification of training must:
(1)  be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the
licensing authority.
(2) bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority.
(3) bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing
authority.
C. The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a
minimum:
(1)  applicant’s name and address
(2)  applicant’s Registration Number or license
identification number (if applicable)
(3) the course in which applicant was enrolled
(4) total credit hours earned
(5)  date of completion or last attendance (Non licensed
individuals only)
(6) Information regarding current license (if applicable),
including expiration date and whether the licensee is in good
standing.
d. In the event the information cannot be provided by the

licensing authority, it may be obtained from the attendant school,
however it must be submitted to the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology directly from the school, or in a sealed envelope
bearing the school “letterhead”, must bear the seal-impress of the
school, and be certified by an agent of the school. The Mississippi
State Board of Cosmetology reserves the right to deny Certification
of Training submitted by a school if it is determined that the
information can be provided by the appropriate licensing authority.
Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview

a.
Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the examination requirements
of the state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, and
notified of the date and time.

b.

Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and

The applicant must present the following documents at the

time of the interview:
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C.

(1)  Photographic identification.
(@)  Applicant must present two (2) current
photographs to be attached to his or her application for
examination. A full face photo is required; profiles are
not acceptable. The photograph must be recognizable
as the person who is making application for
examination.
(b)  Applicant must present a government-issued
photographic identification card which contains the
applicant’s signature and date of birth. In the event of a
name change, legal proof of the change must be
presented.

(2)  Two additional forms of identification must be

presented by the applicant. In the event of a name change,

legal proof of the change must be presented

(3)  Any applicant who uses or proposes to use an electric

file in any manicuring procedure must present an acceptable

certification attesting to proper training in the use of the

instrument.

The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her

eligibility to apply for examination:

(1)  to determine that the applicant is at least 17 years of
age.
(2)  To determine that the applicant is able to read, write
and speak English.
(3)  To determine that the applicant has a 12th grade
education or its equivalent. The applicant must present, at the
time of the interview, acceptable documentation evidencing
completion of the 12th grade, or its equivalent. Where the
secondary education was obtained outside of the United
States, the applicant must present a copy of the proof of
completion, along with an original translation which has been
prepared by an approved translation or credentialing service,
and which certifies that the document is considered to be the
equivalent of a 12th grade education.

Additional information may be required if it has been
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determined, or there is reason to believe that a
candidate for examination has completed high school
under one or more of the following circumstances:

(@)  The institution is not accredited by the

Department of Education in the relevant state

(b)  The institution is not accredited by a recognized

proprietary school accrediting association

(c) The candidate may have completed a self-study

course.
(4)  The candidate will not be considered to have a 12"
grade education or its equivalent if it is determined that one or
more of the following circumstances exist:

(a) The institution from which the diploma or
transcript was acquired is not sanctioned or
accredited by a state supported educational
credentialing entity, or

(b)  The candidate completed a self study program in
which progress examinations and final
examinations were not physically supervised by
one or more staff members of the institution or a
recognized examination administration/proctor
service.

C. If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all
requirements for examination, he or she will be advised that the application cannot
be accepted, and the reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of
the right to an Administrative Hearing before the Board.
D. If the applicant is deemed to meet all examination eligibility requirements,
he or she will be required to:
1. Complete an Application for Examination. The Board approved form,
Out of State Applicants/Application for Examination, must be completed in
its entirety.
2. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been
established by Law, Section 73-7-29, and may be submitted by personal
check, cashier’s check, money order, or cash.
3. Take the practical examination, the National written examination, and
the State written examination.
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V.

Instructor — In-State:

A. Examination eligibility requirements:

1.

Must be at least 21 years of age.

2. Must be able to read, write and speak English

3. Must possess a high school education or its equivalency

4. Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license.

5. Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the Board.

6. Must have successfully completed a course of training for which
application for licensure is being made.

7. Must have attended at least one mandatory Board "methods of
teaching” seminar earning a minimum of 5.0 continuing education
hours.

D. Application must be accompanied by:

1. Required fee

2. Two (2) recent head photographs, taken within 90 days prior to
application.

3. Certified transcript of completion of the course of training for which
application for examination is being made.

2. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of

twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.

3.

Copy of current practitioner’s license.

Out of State Instructor:

A. Examination eligibility requirements:

1.

o bk wb

Must be at least 21 years of age.

Must be able to read, write and speak English

Must possess a high school education or its equivalency

Must possess a current Mississippi practitioner’s license.

Must have completed twelve (12) semester hours in college courses
approved by the Board.

Must have successfully completed a course of training for which
application for licensure is being made.

Must have attended one mandatory Board” methods of teaching”
seminar.

2. The application must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and
must be accompanied by:
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1. Required fee

2. Two (2) recent head photographs, taken within 90 days prior to

application.
3. Proof of completion of high school education or its equivalent.
4. An affidavit, on a form approved by the Board, completed and signed

by the board official in the state from which the current license is
held, attesting to education and licensure status.

6. Certified original transcript evidencing successful completion of
twelve (12) semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.
7. Copy of Current Mississippi practitioner’s license.

VI. Out of Country Applicant:

A.

Any person who is licensed or registered to practice by a county other than
the United States, or any person who has successfully completed a course
of training in a country other than the United States, which meets this state’s
minimum requirements, may submit an application for examination.

The application must be submitted on a form prescribed by the Board and
must be accompanied by:

1. The required fee.

2. Two recent head photographs taken within 90 days prior to
application.

3. A copy of current out-of-country license or certificates.

4. Proof of at least a 12" grade education or its equivalent.

5. Certification from the registering agency or the school in which the

training was acquired, reflecting the number of training hours earned,
and the curriculum subijects.

VII.  Grade Average

A.

All students enrolled in a school as an instructor trainee, cosmetologist,
manicurist, esthetician, or wig specialist, must maintain an average grade of
not less than 85% in both the theory and practical segments of the course in
order to be eligible to apply for examination for licensure.
Any student with a final transcript indicating that there is less than the 85%
average in either or both segments, must first return to school and
successfully pass any testing or meet whatever criteria that the school may
set forth to bring the average to the required 85%, prior to being accepted
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402. PERMIT TO WORK

1.
employed.
2.

for examination.

Student, or Student Instructor:

A. Any student or student instructor who has completed the total number of
prescribed hours in a course of training may be issued a permit to work in
that capacity, upon request, provided the following requirements have been

met:

1.

403.

An application for examination has been made, and approved by the
board.

An application for a permit to work has been submitted on a form
approved by the Board, which includes the following information:

Name and address of the establishment in which application is to be

Establishment registration number, current license number and expiration

date of license.

3.
4.
of license.

Name of supervising licensee. (Supervisor)
Supervisor registration number, current license number, and expiration date

B. Permit to work is not processed unless all information is complete or if
either the establishment or supervisor licenses are expired, or if false information
is reflected on the application.

1.

The supervising licensee must be employed on a full-time basis by
the establishment in which the student has made application for a
permit. If it is necessary for the supervisor to be out of the salon on
occasion, another licensed practitioner must be designated to
oversee the work of the student.

2. A student instructor who has been issued a permit to work is not
required to be under the constant supervision of a licensed instructor.
C. An approved permit to work will be sent, in the applicant’'s name, directly to

the employing establishment.

1.

Any student found to be working in any establishment before receipt
of a temporary permit to work will be sent home by the state board
agent.
Any establishment owner found to be employing a student without a
temporary work permit will be cited for employing non-licensed
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personnel, and such case could be cause for establishment license

suspension.
2. If any student has received a temporary permit to work and fails any portion
of the practical or written examination, that student is no longer be eligible to work.
1. The student and the employing establishment will be notified of the
student’s ineligibility to work.
2. The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit

immediately. Failure to do so, or for the student to continue working,
could be considered just cause for suspension of the establishment
license and denial of the student’s licensure.
3. Failure to appear for examination when called, results in cancellation of
permit to work, except in the case of documented illness or death in the immediate
family.

1. The student and the employing establishment will be notified of the
student’s ineligibility to work.

2. The employing establishment will be notified to return the permit
immediately. Failure to do so or for the student to continue working,
could be considered just cause for suspension of the establishment
license, and denial of the student’s licensure.

4. No student under the authority of the Mississippi State Board of
Cosmetology may work as a practitioner in a salon while in the process of
acquiring their training.

I. Out-dated Applicant
A. Any applicant who has been previously licensed in this state and who has

failed to renew their license within a three year period, may be issued a

Permit to Work, under the following conditions.

Application for examination is made within three years of the out-
dated status, that is, up to six years from the date of license
expiration. After this time has passed, no Permit to Work will be
issued.

403. EXAMINATIONS
l. An examination for any practitioner or instructor license is both written and
practical.
A. The applicant must demonstrate by practical examination, minimal skills
and knowledge necessary for the license sought.

B. The applicant must successfully complete a written examination
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404.

405.

demonstrating knowledge of professional, health and safety methods, and
procedures and knowledge of Mississippi Statutes and rules pertinent to the
practice of cosmetology at the level of the license sought.

Il. Grades necessary to pass examination:

A. Basic Examinations (Practitioner): A person taking the Board of
Cosmetology examination will be granted a license to practice if such
person makes an examination grade of not less than 70 on each portion of
the practical examination, and not less than 70 on both the state and
national written examination.

B. Instructor Examinee: A person taking the Board of Cosmetology Instructor
examination will be granted a license to practice if such person makes an
examination grade of not less than 75 on each portion of the practical
examination, and not less than 75 on both the state and national written
examination.

[l. Oral Examinations: If a person has failed to make a passing grade in the written
segment of the basic examination, an oral examination may be considered upon the
written request of the school in which his/her course of training was acquired. No oral
examination will be considered on the first attempt, except in those cases where the
individual has a disability as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act, and required
special accommodation which could be satisfied with the administration of an oral
examination.

V. The board will make and keep an accurate record of each examination.

EXAMINATION FEE FORFEITURE

The fee received for application for examination and licensure is forfeited if:

l. Licensure fee: An applicant fails to appear for examination within 90 days of
receipt of application, provided however, in no case will a forfeiture occur because
of failure of the board to schedule an approved applicant for examination.

Il. Examination Fee: Applicant fails to appear for examination when scheduled except
in the case of documented illness or death in immediate family.

FAILURE TO QUALIFY

l. Any applicant failing to pass the required examination after three attempts is not
eligible for re-examination until he or she has returned to a school for additional training
and met whatever criteria is deemed necessary by the school to prepare applicant for
successful examination.

. A candidate for licensure who has been unsuccessful in passing the examination,
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is required to retake only the portion of the examination which was failed, up to a period of three
years. After three years, the grades are no longer valid and the candidate is required to take
the entire examination, both written and practical.

5. CONTINUING EDUCATION

501. DEFINITIONS
As used in this rule section, unless the context otherwise requires:

l. “Biennial” means every two years (24 months)

Il. “Category” means any one of seven areas in which continuing education hours
may be acquired.

[l “CEIT” means Continuing Education in Instructor Training.

V. “‘MC” means Master Cosmetologist

V. ‘MCSA” means Mississippi Cosmetology School Association.

VI. “‘MIBA™ means Mississippi Independent Beautician’s Association.

VII.  “MSBC” means Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

VIII.  “MCA” means Mississippi Cosmetology Association

IX. “Provider” means an individual, association or a company which makes a request
to present a continuing education event.

X. "SOTA” means School Owner’s and Teacher’s Association.

XI. “T & T” means Mississippi State Department of Education, Vocational-Technical

Bureau, Trade and Technical Division.

502. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:
l. Instructor and Master Cosmetologist:
A. In order to renew an instructor’s license in an active status, proof of

acquisition of twenty-four (24) CEIT hours must be on record with the board.

1. The biennial period is twenty-four month intervals from the date of
qualification for licensure as an instructor, and each twenty-four
month period thereafter.

2. Licensed instructors must attend at least one mandatory Board
sanctioned methods of teaching seminar earning a minimum of 5.0
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continuing education hours per biennial period in order to renew the
instructor’s license in an active status.

3. At the time of renewal of an instructor’s license, his/her record is
reviewed for compliance at the end of the most recent biennial
period.

4. An instructor who fails to acquire 24 hours CEIT during their biennial

period will be issued an inactive license upon renewal, and must
obtain an additional 24 hours CEIT before the license can be made
active, i.e., hours may not be carried forward for the purpose of
making an inactive license active.
B. A Master Cosmetologist license may be issued to any individual who makes
application for same, on a form prescribed by the board provided:

1. He/she has been licensed as a cosmetologist in this state for at least
twelve (12) months.

2. Proof of having acquired sixteen (16) hours of continuing education
approved by the board during the licensing period prior to
application, is on record with the board.

C. In order to renew a Master Cosmetologist license, proof of acquisition of
eight (8) hours of continuing education must be on record with the board.

503. Creditis given for CEIT/MC hours in the following CATEGORIES, providing all
requirements set forth by the board have been met:

l. Category One: Organized course work or activities in cosmetology or cosmetology
related subject matter. Included are seminars, short courses, workshops, and on-
line continuing education, as well as technical sessions of MSBC meetings or
conferences.

504. Credit accrues at the rate of one hour for each hour of contact, rounded off
to the nearest quarter hours.
1. An individual must actually be in attendance for each contact hour claimed. No
credit is given for missed sessions, social hours, breaks and related activities, or business
meetings.
505. In order for an activity to be approved for CEIT/MC hours in this category,
the following criteria must be met:
1. The activity must have significant intellectual or practical content and its primary
objective must be to increase the participant’s professional competency as an instructor or
master cosmetologist.
2. The activity must be offered by a provider having substantial, recent experience
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in offering CEIT/MC courses. Demonstrated ability arising partly from the extent to which
individuals with training or educational experience are involved in the planning, instruction, and
supervision of the activity.

1. The following providers are recognized by the board as having met the
criteria set forth above:

1. Mississippi Cosmetology School Association

2. Mississippi Independent Beauticians Association

3. Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology

4. Mississippi State Department of Education, T & T Division

5. Mississippi Cosmetology Association

6. School Owners and Teachers Association

7. Out of State Continuing education certified by that State’s board,
commission, or department of registration & licensure.

2. Other providers may be approved as their identities and programs are
confirmed by the board.

3. The board may, at any time, re-evaluate a program and revoke approval of
the provider.

3. The activity itself must be conducted by an individual or group qualified by

practical or academic experience. The program, including the named advertised participant,
must be conducted substantially, as planned, subject to emergency withdrawals and alterations.
4, Thorough, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared written materials must
be made available to all participants at or before the time the course is presented, unless the
absence of such materials is recognized as reasonable and approved by the board; mere outline
without citations or explanatory notations are not sufficient.

5. The activity must be conducted in a physical setting conducive to learning.

6. At a minimum, the activity must consist of not less than four hours of actual
instruction.

7. Activities that cross academic lines, such as a financial aid seminars, may be
considered for approval.

8. The costs of the program to the participant, apart from optional meals, lodging,

travel, etc., should be reasonable, considering subject matter, instructional level, etc.

506. Any provider or licensee desiring approval of a course, program, or other
activity, must apply to the board on a form approved by the board by
submitting all supporting documentation no less than forty-five days prior to
the date for which the course or program is scheduled.

1. The board will advise the applicant in writing within thirty (30) days of the
receipt of the completed application whether the activity is approved or disapproved. Applicants
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2. denied approval of a program or activity may appeal such decision by
submitting a letter of appeal to the board within fifteen (15) days of the receipt of the notice of

the approval.

3. The provider of an approved CEIT/MC activity may advertise in informational
brochures and programs provided by the provider, as follows:

“This course has been approved by the Mississippi State

Board of Cosmetology for a maximum of __ hours credit in

continuing education for instructor or master cosmetologist.”
The Board approves only those activities in which the board or its
employees can verify that the subjects being presented conform to
the board’s policies. The board has the right to freely enter and
observe all or appropriate portions of such activities.
The board may at any time re-evaluate and revoke approval of a
particular activity.

Il. Category Two: Successful completion of organized course work or activities which
bestow college credit not specifically cosmetology or cosmetology related, but which are
professionally enriching or directly benefiting the individual in his/her present position.

Credit accrues at the rate of twelve (12) CEIT/MC hours for each three (3)
semester hours.

Il. Category Three: Development, preparation, and presentation of an activity, such

as described in Category One, which requires effort beyond the general scope of the

individual’s normal duties or job description.

Credit accrues at the rate of two (2) contact hours for each hours of
presentation.
V. Category Four: Teaching an approved CEIT activity, provided that presentations
are accompanied by through, high quality, readable, and carefully prepared materials.
(Generated by the presenter).
A. Credit accrues at the rate of:

1.

Four (4) hours credit for each instructional hour of presentation, if all
criteria are met.
Two hours credit for each instructional hour of presentation if
presentation accompanied by one or two page outlines, or not
accompanied by written materials.
Repeat presentations accrue at one half the credit applicable to the
initial presentation.
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504.

V. Category Five: Preparation, writing and publication of cosmetology or cosmetology
related subject matter which requires effort beyond the general scope of the individual's
duties or job description.

A. Credit accrues at the rate of:
1. 15 hours for each publication requiring technical review.
2. 5 hours for an article or series of articles of a substantial nature in

magazines, newspapers, or similar publications.
VI. Category Six: Self-improvement in cosmetology or cosmetology related subjects.
Included is participation in or attendance at meetings such as those conducted by the
State Board of Cosmetology or professional associations, and observation of the board
administered practical examination.

The activity must deal primarily with matters related to the enhancement of
the participants knowledge (MC) or to the teaching of cosmetology, manicuring,
wigology, esthetics, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of master
cosmetologists or instructors, or any related field of expertise.

A. In order to receive any credit in this category, an individual claiming hours
for professional meetings, etc., should make certain that proof exists of their
participation, such as inclusion on registration lists, etc. The burden of
furnishing proof of compliance rests with the licensee.

B. Credit accrues at the rate of 2 contact hour for each hour of activity.
C. No more than three (3) hours credit are allowed in this category.
VII.  Category Seven: Holding an elected or appointed office or active committee
assignment in the MSBC or allied professional organizations.
A. Credit accrues at the rate of:
1. Five (5) hours per year for holding office or chairing an assignment.
2. Two (2) hours per year for active committee membership.

DOCUMENTATION OF CONTINUED EDUCATION HOURS
l. Instructors: On or before the renewal of a license after the close of the most
current biennial period, an instructor should submit documentation of any CEIT hours
earned in any category other than categories One, Three or Four. The documentation
must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any category in which credit is
claimed. The documentation, combined with hours earned in Categories One, Three and
Four, must verify completion of the required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing
education, in order to renew a license in an active status.
Il. Master Cosmetologist:

A. In order to receive a license as a master cosmetologist, an applicant must
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601.

submit documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any
category other than categories One, Three or Four. The documentation
must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any category in
which credit is claimed. The documentation, combined with hours earned in
Categories One, Three and Four, must verify completion of the required
sixteen (16) hours of continuing education.

B. In order to renew a license as a master cosmetologist, an applicant must
submit documentation of any continuing education hours earned in any
category other than categories One, Three or Four. The documentation
must be applicable proof of participation in activities for any category in
which credit is claimed. The documentation, combined with hours earned in
Categories One, Three and Four, must verify completion of the required
eight (8) hours of continuing education.

The Board reserves the right to require additional documentation and proof for

reported activities. When asked for additional documentation, the burden of furnishing
proof of compliance rests with the licensee.

6. LICENSING

RECIPROCITY:

An individual who holds a current license from another state with whom Mississippi

is reciprocal may be eligible for licensure in accordance with Law, Section 73-7-23. The
Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology maintains a list of states with whom Mississippi
is reciprocal.

Prior to making application for reciprocity, the applicant must:

A. Complete an Application of Intent. The Board approved form, Out of State

Applicant’s Application of Intent to Apply for Reciprocity must be completed in its

entirety and submitted to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.

B. 1. The applicant must cause an affidavit or certification to be issued by

the board in which the training was acquired or the license is held. If the state in

which the applicant is currently licensed is also the state in which the training was

acquired, then only one affidavit is required. Where the current license is held in

one state and original license or education was obtained in a different state, and
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the state of current licensure will not attest to the applicant’s training, an affidavit is
also required from the state of origin.
2. The affidavit/certification of training must:
a. be mailed directly to the Mississippi State Board by the
licensing authority.

b. bear the seal-impress of the licensing authority.
C. bear at least one signature of an official of the licensing
authority.
3. The affidavit/certification of training should contain, at a minimum:

a. applicant’'s name and address

b. applicant’s Registration Number or license identification

number

C. the course in which applicant was enrolled

d. total credit hours earned

e. Information regarding current license, including expiration date

and whether the licensee is in good standing.
C. Appear for an Application Eligibility Interview
1. Upon receipt of a completed Application of Intent and
Affidavit/Certification of Training, which meets the reciprocity requirements of the
state of Mississippi, the applicant is scheduled for an interview, and notified of the
date and time.
2. The applicant must present the following documents at the time of
the interview:
a. Photographic identification.
(1)  Applicant must present a current photograph to be
attached to his or her application for reciprocity. A full face
photo is required; profiles are not acceptable. The
photograph must be recognizable as the person who is
making application for reciprocity.
(2)  Applicant must present a government-issued
photographic identification card which contains the applicant’s
signature and date of birth. In the event of a name change,
legal proof of the change must be presented.
b. Two additional forms of identification must be presented by
the applicant. In the event of a name change, legal proof of the
change must be presented .
C. A current, valid out of state license. The license will be
90



reviewed to determine that all information contained in it including
name, registration number, social security number, etc., matches the
information which was provide in the affidavit.
d. Any applicant who uses or proposes to use an electric file in
any manicuring procedure must present an acceptable certification
attesting to proper training in the use of the instrument
3. The applicant will be interviewed to determine his or her eligibility to
be licensed by reciprocity:
a. to determine that the applicant is at least 17 years of age.
b. To determine that the applicant is able to read, write and
speak English.
. If the applicant fails to present evidence satisfactory, of meeting all requirements
for reciprocity, he or she will be advised that the application cannot be accepted, and the
reason for same. The applicant will be advised, in writing, of the right to an Administrative
Hearing before the Board.

V. If the applicant is deemed to meet all reciprocity eligibility requirements, he or she
is required to:
A. Complete an Application for Reciprocity. The Board approved form,
Application for Licensure by Reciprocity, must be completed in its entirety.
B. Pay the required fee. The prevailing fee is that which has been established

by Law, Section 73-7-29, and may be submitted by personal check, cashier’s
check, money order, or cash.

602. FEE RECEIPTS:
l. Renewal Fees:

A. School License Renewal: A school owner who fails to renew his school
license within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new
application for licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-16, and Rule 201.

B. Salon License Renewal: A salon owner who fails to renew his salon license
within one (1) year from date of expiration must make a new application for
licensure as prescribed in Section 73-7-17, and Rule 701.

C. All Licensees:

1. The postmark date on the transmittal envelope of the renewal
application and fee is determinative in ascertaining whether receipt
was prior to the expiration of the grace period.
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2. Application for renewal of licenses which are not accompanied by the
provided renewal form are assessed a fee for lost renewal form.

3. When an applicant for new or renewed license has not submitted
required documentation or proper fee, applicant will be notified of
same by mail, and license processing is placed on “hold” for a
maximum of ninety (90) days, during which time no additional fees or
charges will be assessed. If however, a period of 90 days has
passed without submittal of required information or balance due,
credited fees are forfeited; refunds cannot be granted.

Il. Refunds of fees.

A. Application for a new license. An applicant may make a written request to
withdraw the application, under the following conditions:
1. The application cannot, or has not been approved, for any reason
2. The applicant has not been scheduled for examination
3. In the case of an application for reciprocity, the license issuance
process has not begun.
4. In the case of an application for a new salon, an inspection has not
occurred.
B. Balance due on application fees. An applicant may submit a written

request for a refund of application fees, either new or renewal, where there is a balance due,
and the applicant does not wish to submit the additional fee.

603. DUPLICATE LICENSE

l. For the benefit of licensees who may be employed in more than one location, a

request for a duplicate license may be made at the time of license renewal, provided the

proper fee is submitted. If more than one duplicate is requested during a licensing
period, the licensee must provide a certified statement of the reason for the request. In
the case of working in more than one salon, the individual and the salon owner must
provide proof of same.

I. In order to insure that a request for the issuance of a duplicate license, which is
made at any time other than at renewal, is indeed received from and for the benéefit of the
licensee to whom it is entitled, such requests must be accompanied by two forms of
identification. Acceptable forms of identification may be: drivers license, government issued 1D
card, Social Security card, school ID card with photograph, voter registration card, U.S. Military
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card, Native American tribal document, birth certificate, passport, certificate of U.S. citizenship,
certificate of naturalization, valid (unexpired) temporary resident card or employment
authorization card.

. Any individual who has a duplicate license posted, will be required to provide proof
of identity to any agent of the board who is performing an inspection of the establishment in
which they are working. Failure to do so will result in the issuance of a citation for violation.

V. When a new or renewed license has been issued and mailed by the Board, but

has not been received by the licensee, a duplicate license may be issued, at no charge to

the licensee, under the following conditions:

A. The license has not been returned to the Board office.
B. A correct mailing address was provided to the Board.
C. The Board is notified of non-receipt of the license within four months of the

receipt date of the proper renewal fee, or in the case of a new license, within four months of the
actual license issue date.

7. SALONS: APPROVAL OF

701. PROCEDURE FOR OPENING OF NEW SALON:
1. An application for a license to operate a salon must be submitted on a form
prescribed and provided by the board, accompanied by such evidence, statements
or documents as therein required and filed with the board at its office in Jackson,

Mississippi.
1. The following information is required on the application:
1. The name of the proposed salon.
2. The address, location and the phone number of the proposed salon.
3. The names and address of the proposed owners. If a partnership or
corporation, the name and addressed of all principals must be
provided.
4. Owner’s Social Security Number
5. If the proposed owner is not a licensed practitioner, the name and

registration number of an individual licensed by this board, who will
manage salon.

6. Any applicant for a salon license desiring to limit the practice to
manicuring or esthetics or wigology only, must so state on the
application, and any licensed issued to the establishment, authorizes
only the practice, as applied for.
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In addition to the above, the following information must be submitted with
the application:

1. Required fee

2. Alist of the equipment the salon proposes to have on hand.

An incomplete application will be returned to the applicant within thirty (30)
days after receipt by the board, with the cause of return.

Where an application has been submitted and is not ready for inspection
within 90 days after receipt, the application will be canceled and the fee will
be forfeited.

Inspection and Approval for Licensure:

A.

If the application is found to be in order, the board will conduct an inspection
of the premises to determine if all requirements, as indicated in the law,
including minimum equipment requirements, have been strictly adhered to
by the owner(s) of the proposed salon. If the requirements are not met, and
the inspector cannot approve the salon, there will be an additional fee for
each inspection made before licensing the salon.

Temporary Verbal Permission: After receipt of application, and verification of

data, a proposed salon may receive temporary verbal permission to operate

pending final inspection and approval, however, if the physical inspection
reveals that any licensing requirements are deficient, final approval cannot
be recommended and the verbal permission will be immediately withdrawn.

1. Applicant should allow at least three working days after mailing salon
application in order to insure receipt of application in the board
offices. After this period of time, applicant may call the board office
and request “Temporary Verbal Permission to operate.”

2. In order to receive temporary verbal permission, the salon should be
ready for operation by meeting all minimum equipment requirements
as set forth in Rule 702 below.

3. Temporary verbal permission does not constitute final approval of the
salon, which may only be grated by physical inspection as set forth
above.

702. REQUIRED EQUIPMENT:
A cosmetology salon must have the following minimum equipment in order to be

approved for licensure:

Outside sign.
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One (1) dresser or work station with mirror for each practitioner
One (1) shampoo bowl and chair
One (1) dryer per two work stations. (For purposes of this rule, a dryer is
defined as “a chair or standing hair dryer with a hood, either
stationary or portable.”)
Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes per practitioner.
One (1) covered towel container for soiled towels.
Closed cabinet for clean towels.
One (1) wet sterilizer per practitioner.
One (1) dry sanitizer. (Any clean, closed container is considered adequate)
Covered trash can.
Sufficient equipment for giving complete beauty service.
. Salons in which manicuring only is practice must have the following minimum
equipment:
Outside sign
One (1) manicure table with lamp per manicurist.
One (1) patron chair and manicure stool per manicurist.
One (1) wet sanitizer (cotton and alcohol) per manicurist.
one (1) finger bowl per manicurist
One (1) dry sanitizer for clean implements. (Any clean, closed container is
considered adequate)
Closed cabinet for supplies.
Covered trash can.
Sufficient equipment for giving complete manicuring/pedicuring services.
Il. Salons in which esthetics only is practiced must have the following minimum
equipment:
Outside sign
Treatment area(s) located so as to insure the privacy of the patron.
One (1) treatment bed, table or chair, and one (1) practitioner stool per
practitioner.
One (1) lavatory for each treatment area.
One (1) covered contained for soiled linens.
One (1) closed cabinet for clean lines.
One (1) closed cabinet for supplies
One (1) free standing magnifying light per two (2) practitioners.
One (1) woods lamp per two (2) practitioners.
One (1) wet sterilizer per practitioner.
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703.

One (1) dry sterilizer.

Adequate supply of client drapes and lines (towels, sheets, and pillow
covers.

Covered trash can.

Sufficient equipment for giving complete esthetics services.

V. Salons in which wigology only is practiced must have the following minimum
equipment:

Outside sign.

One (1) shampoo bowl or lavatory

Twelve (12) combs and twelve (12) brushes.

One (1) covered towel container for soiled towels.

One (1) closed cabinet for clean towels.

One (1) wet and dry sanitizer

One (1) dresser with mirror

Covered trash can

One (1) dryer

Sufficient equipment for giving complete services for wigs.

V. All cosmetology establishments must have an outside entrance except salons in
department stores or buildings with a main entrance.

VI. In addition to the above rules, a home establishment must meet the following
criteria:
A. The wall between the salon and home must be of ceiling height

B. If a door exists between the beauty salon and the remainder of the house,
said door must be kept closed during business hours.
C. Bathroom facilities must be separate from home facilities
VII.  Alicensed establishment must not be used for living purposes or other residential

use.

SALON CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP; ADDITION OF PARTNERS; CHANGE OF
LOCATION; CHANGE OF TRADE NAME
l. Change of Ownership

A.

Salon owners who contemplate selling or transferring the ownership of a
salon must notify the board in writing prior to the sale or transfer.

Where a sale or transfer of ownership occurs, the prospective owners must
make application for a new salon in accordance with Rules 701 - 702, and
must pay the required fee.

Il. Addition or Change of partners

96



A. Where a partnership is added, or changed, and at least one partner or
original owner remains, then a new salon application is not required.

B. Written notification of the change in partnership should be made to the
board within (30) days of such change.
C. When the original applicant(s) is no longer a partner in the salon, an

Application of Approval of a New Salon must be made in accordance with
Rules 701 - 703, and the required fee must be paid.
Il. A salon owner who contemplates relocation of the salon must make application for
a new salon in accordance with Rules 701 - 703, and must pay the required fee.

A. A change of location includes moving an existing establishment:
1. From one address to another
2. From one building, or area within a building, to another, even when a
“change of address” does not occur.
B. An application for a new salon not required when:
2. A portable building is moved from one specific site on a lot to another
site on the same lot, and there is no change in equipment.
3. Where an establishment has been destroyed by fire or act of God,

and is rebuilt in the same location.
V. Change of Trade Name
A salon will not change its trade name without having first notified the board in
writing of its intent to do so.

704. NURSING HOME SALONS
§73-7-35, MS. Code 1972, Ann., Amended, provides that cosmetology services may be
provided outside the physical confines of a licensed salon, to “...any person who may be
confined to his or her home, a hospital, or other place as a result of illness.”
l. Nursing home salons are considered patient care facilities and do not require a
salon license under the following conditions:

A. Services are restricted to patients only and are not provided for employees
of the nursing home, nor family or friends of the patients.
B. A retirement home or community where the residents are not confined due

to illness is not considered a nursing home. Any salon operated as a part of a retirement home
or community must be licensed by the Board.
. If a nursing home facility requests to be licensed as a salon and meets all
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requirements of the Board, then it will be granted.

801.

802.

803.

8. SANITATION

ENFORCEMENT

The holder or holders of an establishment license, or the person in charge of any
such establishment is liable for the implementation and maintenance of the
sanitary conditions of the establishment.

Any student, licensed practitioner, or licensed instructor is held individually liable
for the implementation and maintenance of the sanitary conditions of his/her
station and equipment.

POSTING SANITARY RULES
A copy of the Rules and Regulations governing sanitation must be posted in a place
conspicuous to the public.

INTERIOR

VI.

Each establishment must be kept clean and in good repair. Fixtures, including

shampoo bowls, must be free from scale, rust, hair or product buildup.

Floors in any area where services are performed must be covered with a non-

porous material, readily cleanable.

All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers with tight fitting lids, so

constructed that it may be thoroughly cleaned and must be maintained in a clean

condition. Waste and refuse must be removed from the premises as frequently

as necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness.

Hair and nail clippings must be removed from the floor and surface areas

immediately after each client.

Dogs (except for the blind), cats, birds, and other pets are not permitted in an

establishment.

Water Supply

A. Each establishment must be provided with an adequate supply of potable
running water, under pressure, from an approved source. The potable
water system must be installed to preclude the possibility of backflow, with
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no cross connections through which the portable water might become
contaminated.

Adequate hot and cold water under pressure must be provided in all work
booths or work rooms.

Adequate drinking water facilities must be conveniently located in each
establishment. Either individual paper cups or an approved type slanting
spray drinking fountain must be provided.

All drinking fountains must be maintained in a sanitary manner and the
stream of water from the fountain head must be properly regulated.

The use of a common cup, glass or other receptacle for drinking purposes
is expressly prohibited.

VIl.  TOILET FACILITIES

804.

805.

806.
807.
808.
809.

810.

811.

Every establishment must be provided with adequate and conveniently
located toilet facilities.

At least two toilet facilities must be provided in each school for the students
and patrons. At least one toilet facility should be provided for employees in
other establishments.

All toilet rooms must be kept clean and in good repair.

All toilet rooms must be well lighted and ventilated to the outside air.

Home salons must have toilet facilities within the salon premises.

All establishments located on a street or alley where a system of sanitary
sewers is available must have a properly constructed sewer connection to
the sewer system into which human excreta and other liquid waste is
disposed. Where no sanitary sewer system is available, all human excreta
and other liquid waste must be disposed of in a sewage disposal system
meeting all the requirements of the Mississippi State Department of Health
and/or the Mississippi Department of Natural Resources.

Adequate and convenient hand-washing facilities, including lavatory, hot
and cold running water under pressure, soap or an adequately supplied
soap dispenser, and individual towels must be provided in or adjacent to
every toilet room.

Waste and Refuse: All solid waste and refuse must be kept in containers
with tight fitting lids and must be removed from the premises as frequently
as necessary to prevent a nuisance and unsightliness. All solid waste and
refuse must be disposed of in an approved manner.

804. PERSONAL SANITATION
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805.

806.

l. Hand Washing Practices: Every practitioner and student in a establishment must
thoroughly wash and scrub his or her hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser before
starting work, before each client, or after using the toilet.

A. In the service of manicuring, both the client and the licensed individual must
wash their hands with an antibacterial skin cleanser or wipe with alcohol
prior to the service.

B. Prior to a pedicure, the client’s feet must be cleansed with an antibacterial
skin cleanser.

Il. Infectious Disease

A. Persons with a communicable disease or parasitic infection that is medically
recognized to be transmittable by the type of contact that practitioners have
with clients, are not to be permitted to practice in an establishment until their
condition is no longer communicable under those circumstances.

B. Likewise, clients who have a communicable disease or parasitic infection
that is transmittable to other clients or to a practitioner through the type of
contact the client would have with the practitioner, or other clients, should
not be accommodated in an establishment.

CHAIRS, SHAMPOO BOARDS AND BOWLS

l. The head-rest chair must be provided with a clean towel or paper sheet for each
patron.

. Shampoo boards and bowls must be cleaned with soap and water or other
detergent after each shampoo, kept in good repair and in a sanitary condition at all times.

LINENS

807. Only freshly laundered or new disposable linens can be used on each client.

Il. After linens have once been used, they must be deposited in a closed receptacle,

and cannot be used again until properly laundered and sanitized.

I, Used linens must be laundered either by regular commercial laundering or by a

non-commercial laundering process which includes the following treatment:
Immersion in water at 160° F. for not less than five minutes at some time
during the wash or rinsing operation. All linens are to be disinfected during
the wash cycle using detergent and bleach.

V. All clean towels are to be stored in a closed cabinet.

V. A sanitary neck strip or towel must be used to keep all protective covering from

coming in direct contact with a patron.
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807. BOTTLES AND CONTAINERS
VI.  All bottles and containers must be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their
contents. When not in use all bottles and containers must remain closed. All

bottles containing poisonous substances must be so designated and stored in a
separate cabinet away from cosmetics and other substances.
VII.  There shall be no more than two (2) gallons of acetone stored or in use in a salon

at any one time. Acetone shall be properly labeled and stored in a separate
cabinet from cosmetics, in accordance with manufacturer’s directions.

808. INSTRUMENTS AND SUPPLIES
1. All instruments and supplies which have been used in direct contact upon a patron, or

which have become soiled in any manner whatever, must be removed from work stands or utility
trays, placed in a properly labeled receptacle provided for the purpose, and cannot be used on
another patron until they have been properly clean and sanitized.

2. All supplies such as cotton, ear pads, neck strips and protectors which cannot be
sanitized by one of the procedures covered by Rule 809 must be discarded immediately after
use.

3. Carrying instruments in or on garments or uniforms is prohibited. No practitioner in an

establishment may carry any instruments or supplies in or on a garment or uniform.
4. Use of brush-type neck dusters is prohibited.

l. Electric nail file:

A.

Any individual utilizing or planning to utilize a power drill or electric file in
any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved certification
that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.

The power drill/electric file certification of proficiency must be posted at the
practitioner’s work station at all times.

Any instructor teaching or planning to teach the use of the power drill or
electric file in any manicuring procedure must first present Board approved
certification that they are proficient in the use of the instrument.

The instructor’s power drill/electric file certification of proficiency must be
posted in a conspicuous place in the school at all times.

Any power drill or electric file utilized in any manicuring procedure must be
specifically designed for use on the human nail. The individual utilizing the
instrument must be able to provide that documentation upon demand.



DISINFECTING WORK SURFACES, INSTRUMENTS, MATERIALS AND SUPPLIES:
809. Work surfaces must be cleaned with a detergent and disinfected after each client.
810. All instruments, materials and supplies used in direct contact upon a patron, except
those which come in contact with blood or body fluids, require the following treatment:
1. Thorough cleansing of the instruments, materials and supplies with soap and
water or other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to
remove all foreign material which might harbor bacteria.
2. Each establishment will have and use for disinfection at all times during business
hours, a Wet Disinfectant Container made of glass, stainless steel, or the type
recommended by the manufacturer of the product it contains.
1. The disinfectant used must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal,
virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.
2. The solution will be mixed and used according to manufacturer’s instructions for
dilution and immersion time.
3. The container will be large enough for total immersion of the open implement and will
contain the appropriate amount of solution for the number of items to be disinfected.
4. The container will have a cover in place at all times, labeled as to its contents, and be
easily accessible to all practitioners.
5. Implements are to be removed from the disinfectant in such a manner as not to
contaminate the disinfectant solution (using tongs, baskets, and such), and placed on a
clean dry towel for air drying.
6. Ultraviolet ray cabinets may be used, but are not acceptable as approved disinfecting
devises. Glass bead sterilizers are not an acceptable disinfectant.
3. Storage of Disinfected Implements:
1. Disinfected combs, brushes, instruments and accessories will be kept in a clean,
sanitized, closed receptacle or cabinet when not in use.
Il. Body treatment, pedicure and manicure equipment that holds water shall be
cleaned after each client by scrubbing with surfactant soap and water to remove all
visible residue, then disinfected with an EPA registered bactericide, fungicide, and
virucidal disinfectant with surface contact according to manufacturer’s directions
| All tools and implements which have come in contact with blood or body fluids
must be disinfected in the manner stipulated in Rule 809.11., except that the
disinfectant must be an EPA registered, hospital grade, tuberculocidal that is
mixed and used according to the manufacturer’s direction. Disposable items must
be discarded immediately, following the Blood Spill Procedures as stipulated in
Rule 813.
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810.

811.

812.

DISINFECTING ELECTRIC CLIPPERS AND METAL INSTRUMENTS

Instruments which cannot be sanitized by the procedures set forth in Rule 809 will be
disinfected by:

Thorough cleansing of the working parts of the instruments with soap and water or
other detergent immediately after each use, and prior to disinfection, so as to remove all
foreign material which might harbor bacteria.

Immersion of the working parts of the instruments in a solution of 70% alcohol for
not less than five minutes. Contact points of non-immersible equipment will be wiped or
sprayed with an EPA registered, hospital grade, bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal disinfectant.

DISINFECTING MANICURE INSTRUMENTS WHILE IN USE ON A PATRON

A solution of 70% alcohol will be readily available during the manicure. The
instruments used on a individual patron will be placed in the alcohol solution when
not actually being employed during the process of giving a manicure.

After use on a patron, the entire set of instruments will be removed from the work
station and cannot be used again until disinfected in accordance with the
procedures set forth in Rule 810 or Rule 809 if instruments come in contact with
blood or body fluids.

CLEANING AND DISINFECTING WHIRLPOOL FOOTSPAS.

As used in this section, “whirlpool foot spa” or “spa” is defined as any basin using
circulating water.

Hair Removal and waxing services may not be performed on the legs or feet
before any pedicure service

Each whirlpool foot spa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the following manner:

A.

Before use upon each patron,

1. All water shall be drained and all debris shall be removed from the
spa basin.

2. The spa basin must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap
and water.

3. The spa basin must be disinfected with an EPA-registered
disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal activity
which must be used according to manufacturer’s instructions.

4, The spa basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.
At the end of each day,
1. The screen shall be removed, all debris trapped behind the screen

shall be removed, and the screen and the inlet shall be cleaned with a
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brush and surfactant soap and water.

2. Before replacing the screen, one of the following procedures shall be
performed:
a. The screen shall be washed with a chlorine bleach solution of
1 teaspoon of 5% chlorine bleach to 1 gallon of water, or
b. The screen shall be totally immersed in an EPA-registered

disinfectant with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal
activity which must be used according to the manufacturer’s
instructions.
3. The spa system shall be flushed with low sudsing soap and warm
water for at least 10 minutes, after which the spa shall be rinsed and
drained.
C. Every other week (bi-weekly), after cleaning and disinfecting as provided in
Section B. above, each whirlpool footspa shall be cleaned and disinfected in the
following manner:
1. The spa basin shall be filled completely with water and 1 teaspoon of
5% bleach for each 1 gallon of water.
2. The spa system shall be flushed with the bleach and water solution
for 5 to 10 minutes and allowed to sit for 6 to 10 hours.
3. The spa system shall be drained and flushed with water before use
upon a patron.
D. A record shall be made of the date and time of each cleaning and

disinfecting as required by Sections B. And C., and will indicate whether the cleaning was a daily
or bi-weekly cleaning. This record shall be made at or near the time of cleaning and
disinfecting. Cleaning and disinfecting records shall be made available upon request by either a
patron or a board representative.

E. A violation of this section may result in an administrative fine and/or
disciplinary action. Each footspa not in compliance with this section may result in
a separate violation.

813. BLOOD SPILL PROCEDURES

814.

Practitioner injury. While risk expected with these practices is minimal,
practitioners are cautioned to always use disposable plastic gloves prior to
contacting blood or bodily fluids. If a practitioner sustains a cut, or other blood spill
injury, the client service must be immediately stopped, and the following procedure
employed:
A. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid
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styptic or spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited.
Containers, brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or
contact the wound. An applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton
must be used.
B. Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.
C. Put on properly sized disposable plastic gloves.
D. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed
of in a sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic
bag (double bagged) and discarded.

E. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated
implements as provided in Rule 809.
F. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water. Follow

with an antibacterial scrub on hands. Replace adhesive dressing or band
aid as needed. If the wound is on a hand, put on properly sized,
disposable plastic glove on the injured hand.

G. If necessary, clean client with soap and water.

H. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with a private physician.

Il. Client injury: If a client sustains a cut, or other blood spill injury, the client service
must be immediately stopped, and the following procedure employed:

A. Put on properly sized, disposable plastic gloves.

B. Clean injured area with soap and water. Apply antiseptic and/or liquid
styptic or spray styptic as necessary. The use of styptic pencil is prohibited. Containers,
brushes or nozzles of liquid styptic are not allowed to touch the skin or contact the wound. An
applicator, such as a sanitized piece of gauze or cotton must be used.

C. If necessary, Cover injury with an adhesive dressing or band aid.

D. Any tissue or cotton used to collect blood, or clean injury must be disposed
of in a sealed plastic bag. This plastic bag must be put into another plastic bag (double bagged)
and discarded.

E. Clean and disinfect work area and remove or disinfect any contaminated
implements as provided in Rule 809.
F. Discard plastic gloves. Wash and scrub hands with soap and water. Follow
with an antibacterial scrub on hands.
G. In the event of a blood to blood contact, consult with private
physician.

814. HEALTH AND SAFETY ISSUES:
l. No instructor, or practitioner, will remove moles or other blemishes by radiation,
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electronic, or other methods of tissue destruction.

815.

V.

No practitioner or instructor will massage any person upon a surface of the skin or
scalp where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or eruption is present.
No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in
any manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled,
and manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for
review by any agent of the Board of Cosmetology.

Hair removal and waxing services may not be performed on the legs or feet before
any pedicure service.

CREAMS, LOTIONS, POWDER AND OTHER COSMETICS

All creams, lotions, and other cosmetics used on patrons must be kept in clean
and closed containers.

All powder used on patrons must be kept in a clean shaker or may be applied by
means of cotton or other sanitized applicator. Applicators must be sanitized after
each patron. Disposable applicators must be discarded immediately after use.
Creams and other semi-solid substances must be removed from the container with
a sanitized spatula or other article. The use of fingers for removing creams, etc., is
prohibited.

Lotions or fluids must be poured into a sanitized glass or other container and must

be applied to the patron by means of cotton or sanitized applicator. Any excess remaining after
application can neither be returned to the original container nor applied to another patron, but
must be discarded immediately.

V.

Creams, lotions, powder and other cosmetics must be removed by means of

cotton, gauze, pledgets, soft absorbent paper, or other sanitized material.

VI.

Wax:

A. Depilatory wax can be used only once and discarded. It cannot be
returned to the wax heater. Applicators cannot be re-dipped.

B. Wax used for other than a depilatory requires that:

VI. The skin must be thoroughly cleansed with an antibacterial skin
cleanser.

VIl.  The skin must be completely dried with a clean towel prior to
immersion.

VIIl.  Wax must be discarded when cloudy or when it contains debris.
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A. The product removed from the body must be discarded.

VII.  Eyebrow pencils must be sharpened after being used on a patron.

VIII.  No product containing the ingredient methyl methacrylate (MMA) can be used in
any manicuring or pedicuring procedure. All products must be correctly labeled, and
manufacturer’s data sheets for any nail product must be readily available for review by any
agent of the Board of Cosmetology.
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