Licensing

1. LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION – TRAINING RECEIVED IN-STATE

NOTE: Temporary Permit will be issued until which time the examination can be scheduled
REQUIREMENTS §73-7-13(1); §73-7-18(1); §73-7-21(1):

  1. must be at least 17 years of age
  2. must be able to read, write and speak English
  3. must have a high school education or its equivalent
  4. completed application and required fee
  5. pass written and practical licensing examinations

Professional Licensing Application By Examination (Part 1) for Applicants Receiving Training in Mississippi
Initial Licensure Application (Part 2) – must be completed after examinations are passed

2. LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION – TRAINING RECEIVED OUT OF STATE – LICENSED LESS THAN ONE (1) YEAR

  1. must be at least 17 years of age
  2. must be able to read, write and speak English
  3. must have a high school education or its equivalent
  4. completed application and required fee
  5. pass written and practical licensing examinations

Professional Licensing Application By Examination (Part 1) for Applicants Receiving Training from Out of State
Initial Licensure Application (Part 2) – must be completed after examinations are passed

3. PREVIOUSLY ISSUED A PERMIT UNDER THE UNIVERSAL RECOGNITION OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING ACT BUT FAILED TO PASS THE SANITATION AND LAW EXAMINATION WITHIN 365 DAYS OF THE ISSUE DATE OF THE PERMIT

REQUIREMENTS §73-50-2

  1. Temporary Practice Permit is invalid 365 days from the issue date of the permit
  2. Temporary Practice Permit must be returned to the MS State Board of Cosmetology upon expiration
  3. The individual can no longer practice in the State of Mississippi upon expiration of the permit
  4. The individual is eligible to take the examination as many times as he/she applies as long as the examination fee is paid during the initial 2 year period from the date of issuance.
  5. Upon passage of the Sanitation and Law Examination within two (2) years from the issue date of the permit, a license shall be granted under the existing Out of State Application for Licensure originally filed with MSBC.
  6. If the applicant fails to pass the Sanitation and Law Examination within two (2) years from the issue date of the permit, a new OUT OF STATE PROFESSIONAL LICENSING APPLICATION must be filed with MSBC; however, an additional 365-day permit will not be issued.

 

4. OUT OF STATE LICENSING THROUGH RECIPROCITY (If the state you are coming from has a written agreement and can provide it to the MSBC office, MSBC will review such agreement and determine its validity under current law; otherwise there is no traditional reciprocity as defined in our statute, Miss. Code Ann, Section 73-7-23(1).

REQUIREMENTS §73-7-23:

  1. must be at least 17 years of age
  2. proof that the required hours have been completed
  3. completed application and required fee

Out of State Application for Licensure (Part 1)

5. OUT OF STATE LICENSING THROUGH THE UNIVERSAL RECOGNITION OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING ACT FROM A LICENSING REGULATED STATE

Note: Temporary Practice Permit for 365 days. The permit holder must take and pass the Sanitation and Law Examination; otherwise the permit expires at the end of 365 days
REQUIREMENTS §73-50-2; §73-7-23(4); HB 1263 (2022)

  1. held a valid license in good standing in another state for 1 year
  2. receive verification form from other state
  3. provides proof of residency (state issued ID; current residential utility bill under applicant’s name and address; current ownership or current lease of a residence in MS; or proof of in-state employment of his or her spouse)
  4. completed application and required fee

Out of State Application for Licensure (Part 1)

6. OUT OF STATE LICENSING THROUGH THE UNIVERSAL RECOGNITION OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING ACT FROM AN UNLICENSING OR UNREGULATED STATE

Note: Temporary Practice Permit for 365 days until applicant can take and pass the Sanitation and Law Examination
REQUIREMENTS §73-50-2; §73-7-23(4); HB 1263 (2022)

  1. can provide required documentation that they for at least three (3) years in the lawful occupation
  2. provides proof of residency (state issued ID; current residential utility bill under applicant’s name and address; current ownership or current lease of a residence in MS; or proof of in-state employment of his or her spouse)
  3. completed application and required fee

Out of State Application for Licensure (Part 1)

7. OUT OF STATE INSTRUCTOR LICENSING THROUGH THE UNIVERSAL RECOGNITION OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING ACT

REQUIREMENTS §73-50-2; §73-7-23(2(3); HB 1263 (2022)

  1. holds a current, valid and verified instructor license in good standing in another state for 1 year
  2. provides proof of a high school education or its equivalent;
  3. MSBC receive verification form from other state that instructor has completed training equivalent to Mississippi as provided in Section 73-7-15 OR has three (3) years or more of experience as a licensed instructor prior to application;
  4. has completed the application and paid the required fee

UROLA (Out of State) Instructor Temporary Practice Permit Application

8. OUT OF STATE LICENSING THROUGH THE MILITARY FAMILY FREEDOM ACT

Note: Temporary Practice Permit for 365 days until applicant can take and pass the Sanitation and Law Examination
REQUIREMENTS §73-50-1; 73-7-23(4)

  1. held a valid license in good standing in another licensing state for 1 year OR can provide documented evidence that they worked for at least three (3) years in the lawful occupation in an unregulated state
  2. receive verification form from other state if coming from a regulated state
  3. receive completed application and applicable fee(s)

Out of State Application for Licensure (Part 1)

 

Web design and hosting by U.S.NEXT